top of page

Meet The Reporters II

reporters2.jpg

Go Figure! is thrilled to have the opportunity to bring our readers the latest, greatest, quirkiest and unexpected news and reviews in the collectibles realm. Though often those behind-the-scenes who do this for the love of it are just a byline. That is not so here as we are excited about them as they are about what they will share with you, the hunters 'n collectors! So, it only makes sense to give proper introductions to a few of our newest. In time we will share the whole team with you as we settle our own dust. Give us a hollah to let us know what you think of the site! With that, here are the folks that make it all happen!

204939_176714002380262_2581853_o.jpg

Meet LENNON GEORGE

1.) Tell us a little about you. Where you are from and what you do by day?

Well I’m from Cincinnati, OH but I was born in New York City, New York. I am a father of three and husband to a wonderful woman. I have a BSC in MusicProduction and Composition from Full Sail University. I am part owner of Jewel Dropa Entertainment/Game Tyte Music Group. It is a music production label that specializes in creating music for TV, Movies, Soundtracks, Jingles, Video Games, etc. that can be used for commercial use. I also am the owner and creator of skylanderaddictsblog.com it is a website dedicated to the Skylanders game. I also run a few pages and websites on music and other toys and pop culture.

2.) How did you get into collecting and becoming an enthusiastic journalist?

I got into collecting at an early age I think it all started with my mom buying me those old 45’s, you know the mini records you had to play with one of those yellow thingamajigs in the middle. I always have been a fan of music and I had all kinds of records from Run DMC to James Brown. I love good old soul music from the 70’s and 80’s. I got into toys through music as well my first collectible I can remember getting was a Michael Jackson Doll the one with the red jacket and glove I think it was for the Beat It video. I remember this doll well because it was some guy on the corner selling toys out of a bag. He had the toy in his hand and I said Mom look it’s Michael! She asked if I wanted it and of course I said yes! I was over excited to get the doll what I didn’t know is that this particular doll came from the toy store that had recently caught on fire and so now Michael was Pepsi Michael lol! It smelled like smoke really bad.

We tried to clean it many times and still it never went away I don’t remember what happened to it, but I wish I still had it they are worth a pretty penny now. It went from Michael to Transformers, M.A.S.K, Thunder Cats, Comics, etc. You name it I had it or was getting it, lol! I wouldn’t really consider myself a journalist per se, I just recently have gotten into blogging and sharing my thoughts about things with the world without using music as the avenue. I like writing, always have. I use to write short stories as a kid, even was accepted to be a part of the young authors society and have a book published, but I got sick and wasn’t able to finish my book unfortunately.

3.) Any brands that consistently shine for you out there?

I am in love with the Skylanders brand they are relatively new to the toy industry, but have definitely impacted the toy genre creating a new toy category and for the past 4 years dominated the industry in sales. I also a big fan of the Funko brand they are a great fun company that has seen a lot of growth over the years. Funko has released some really awesome toys over the years due to the licenses they have acquired and they don’t seem to be slowing down anytime soon. I have always been a fan of Marvel toys I use t collect the Toy Biz stuff way back when. The Sideshow and Play Arts Kai toys are amazing this is the newest brand I have gotten into. I have got to have that Deadpool!

4.) What do you do in your spare time - something that makes you, you?

I love to cook - in my spare time I love to eat! I make music for myself as I have released music in the past under the name Lennon John. I like to sing and make “Beats” just as much as I like playing video games and collecting toys. I customize Funko Pop! Vinyls and Skylander toys as well. You may have seen some pictures floating around the internet that say Pop!Addict Customs on them - that’s me.

5.) Do you see any trends in the world of collectibles?

Toys are starting to be more interactive and detailed. The figures coming out now make me wish they had some of this stuff when I was a kid. Fortunately for me I’m Peter Pan and I’ll “Never Grow Up!” I think toys are going to get real high tech here in the future with all the new ways toys can be made. I’m excited to see what the next big thing is going to be. (Please say droids!)

6.) Thoughts on ebay/Amazon vs. old fashioned comic store shopping?

I personally like to shop online you can find some good deals, but as a collector I like to shop in stores so I can see what I am getting before I get it. I like to pick my figures I am not a fan of paint flaws and beat up boxes, I like my toys to be mint. EBay is a scalper universe so I try not to shop through EBay too often, unless it is for a figure or something I just can’t find any other way. I don’t use Amazon often but it is a better place to shop in my opinion especially with the introduction of Amazon Prime.

7.) What one thing would you take with you if stranded on a deserted island?

Ah! The infamous desert island question... I guess I would take one of those cooking device things that work with solar power so I can cook, heat myself, and have hot water. If a fallen star were a toy that I really wanted it would have to be a Gold Fire Kraken Skylanders Figure. It is one of those figures that you have to have if you are a major Skylanders collector. I just don’t have $500 plus dollars to have one yet. One day, one day...

Screen Shot 2014-10-08 at 1.34.58 PM.png

Meet MARSHALL WATSON

1.) Tell us a little about you. Where you are from and what you do by day?

Firstly I'd like to say a huge hello to everyone joining us here at Go Figure. It's great to meet you all. Some may call me mad and Funko crazy others use Marshall Watson. 30 years young of age living in the great under state of Tasmania with my beautiful partner and two girls 50ks from the little City of Launceston . I enjoy camping, motorbike riding and most of all shopping around for all different figures, busts, miniature toys, and other appealing products that have collectibility and features that reflect some interest of mine. Currently collecting Funko Pop! vinyls and other great vinyl releases from artists like Kidrobot, Neca, and Disney

2.) How did you get into collecting and becoming an enthusiastic journalist?

I've been collecting for most my life from shells to rocks and empty bullets. Shells on the farm I grew up on as the only child to the Funko Pop! Vinyl figures, die cast cars of varying sizes and other vinyl, cast or moulded figures I collect today. There is also a huge range of stuff I collected in between from teddy bears and Kinder surprise toys to video games and Rc toys. During the earlier years of my adulthood I moved more towards technology for helpful info and news on upcoming products & custom parts for RC cars. It quickly came to light that not much info was easily accessed or found. From then I started posting reviews and useful information to sites and social networks.

3.) Any brands that consistently shine for you out there?

A few of my favourite brands include, Funko, Kidrobot and the monthly mystery subscription type boxes that help introduce you to new products you may just miss any other time.

4.) What do you do in your spare time - something that makes you, you?

I like to spend my spare time relaxing at home hanging with friends going to events or comic collectors stores with my daughters and partner - it's quality family time at its best.

5.) Do you see any trends in the world of collectibles?

It's hard to say what the next trend may be with such a diverse collecting community. Generally if it shiny, glitters, glows in the dark, has different paint schemes or blood splatters or is flocked then it's usually hard to obtain.

6.) Thoughts on ebay/Amazon vs. old fashioned comic store shopping?

Being from such a small country with minimal options eBay makes up a big part of my purchases. Otherwise I could not acquire easily elsewhere, along with friendly online trading. I also find my collectibles in exclusive stores online and through a few fair Facebook sales sites which are jumping on board these days! Collecting and sharing has never been so much fun.

7.) What one thing would you take with you if stranded on a deserted island?

If stranded on a deserted island...I would take a never ending pack of Tim Tams. And if a star landed and it was a toy, I'd love a real life sized bumble bee - I'm positive he's a toy?

bottom of page