top of page

Postcards from a Collector: Thinking Aloud

I miss MySpace + My Space!

41WpSUf2fYL._SY300_.jpg

The New Year is right around the corner, and I really need to do something about my collection. I mean, most collectors stick with one genre – you got your sports figures collectors, and I’ll include UFC and WWE collectors in that category; you got your comic book/superhero figure collectors; you got your TV and movie figure collectors, included in that are specifically horror movie figure collectors; there’s also music figure collectors. Hell, if you include lines like Presidential Monsters, there are political figures collectors! Within all this you have action figures, figurines, vinyls, and of course, dolls. I need to reign things in, because I cross all lines and all genres, and I’ve officially run out of space.

Unfortunately, all my Jakks Pacific UFC figures are in storage right now, which is freaking me out because I recently heard about a collector whose storage was robbed. Being a fan of the UFC, and being that those figures are what started my adult collecting, it saddens me that they’re not here, in my apartment, where they belong. I’m keeping every last one of those figures. They’re all still in their boxes, but I’m going to do a mega-YouTube review of all my UFC figures (we will post it when it's ready). Damn it, I can’t do it now because where will I put them all? Back in storage? No way!

p-therock-wwe-series32.jpg
d-beth-phoenix-wwe-basic21.jpg

My WWE figures are also in storage. At some point, I’ll have to sift through those and purge the figures that don’t carry emotional attachment to them. As in, all the newer wrestlers. I haven’t watched WWE in years, so I’ll just stick with the guys I grew up watching from the Classic Super Stars, Legends, and Flashback figure lines. Well, I might keep a few of the newer guys too. I mean, The Rock is such an icon, I gotta have at least one good figure of him. Or two. And Batista, his tattoos are pretty cool, so I’ll need at least one of him. He played Drax in Guardians of the Galaxy for crying out loud! Of course, I’ll need to hold onto a couple CM Punk figures. And the Divas? Well, I can’t let go of the Divas. But I’m certain they’ll be at least a few WWE figures of which I can let go.

Maybe.

neca-1-4-scale-elder-predator.jpg

So right now my apartment is full of movie and TV figures, and comic book/superhero figures, from makers like Mattel, Hasbro, Marvel/Diamond Select, McFarlane, NECA, Mezco, and Bif Bang Pow. My desk has all my NECA 18” Predators on top of it, overseeing my daily web use. I need Warrior to complete my set. I somehow need to fit Arnold “Dutch” Schwarzenegger up there, because for now he’s sitting in front of my air conditioner, along with my other NECA 18” figures and my 18” Super Poseable Spider-Man. You know how hard it was to get that Spider-Man at a decent price? These 18” figures, they’re the size of small children!

momma-bates-640x480.jpg

My dirty little secret is that I have a special fondness for Mezco’s Living Dead Doll line, with such characters as Jason Voorhees, Freddy Krueger, and Michael Myers. I can’t wait for them to release Norman Bates’ dead mother from Psycho. They’re definitely dolls! But no one needs to know about that. Shhhh! Okay, I also have a few Monster High dolls. I was in Mexico and saw Skelita Calaveras at a store and fell in love. She’s a skeleton! I needed her! First I came out of the closet as an action figure collector, now I’m expected to come out of the closet as a doll collector? Yeah right!

skelita.jpg

I need to move into a two-bedroom apartment. That way I can have one room just for my collection. What am I, nuts? I live in Los Angeles; I’ll have to pay at least $500 more per month to have another room! $500 per month just to showcase my collection? I could drive a BMW for that money! There’s that bookshelf, by the front door, the one my girlfriend uses. She doesn’t even officially live here. Why is her stuff on that bookshelf? She has her own apartment! Hell, I’ll give her the bookshelf. I’ll help her move it out of here, and then I can put a nice display cabinet there. If I get rid of that cart, the one in the dining area, with the microwave on it, I can fit another cabinet there. Microwave ovens belong in the kitchen! Okay, maybe this can work. Just thinking out loud here…without a girlfriend, I really don’t need a king size bed…If you want more Sal, subscribe to his YouTube channel right here.

> Play w/Us! <

bottom of page