top of page

Satur'toons: He-Man Master Of The Miniverse

Header_Saturday2.jpg

by Lennon George

I remember being a kid running around the house screaming “I HAVE THE POWER!!!” whenever He-Man & The Masters of the Universe cartoon show would come on TV. I would grab all the He-Man toys I could hold at one time and sit in front of the TV and try to re-enact scenes from the show. I loved to see Prince Adam and Cringer turn into He-Man and Battlecat and save Eternia from the evil clutches of Skeletor and his minions.

MOTU-1.jpg

I had almost all of the original MOTU figures, and my favorite was the two-headed outlaw that once was two people, a set of twins to be exact, that were merged together once they failed to destroy He-Man as Skeletor had instructed them to do. I lost my collection in the many moves during my childhood so needless to say the other day when I saw the mini Orko I just lost it! So many memories started to flow. I could see my younger self playing with these awesome toys, just like I was 5 years old again.

Naturally I had to find out more about these figures so I could get my hands on them. Well I found out that they have just been released this year, but they are only available through a subscription via MattyCollector.Com.

motuminis-logo-800x500_c.jpg

mattel-reveals-final-two-sdcc-exclusives-1mattelminihemansdcc.jpg

The first Minis set was of He-Man and Skeletor they came in a cool diorama packaging and were released at SDCC 2013. They were such a big hit a smaller, scaled version was created with fan favorites added to the set.

MOTU Minis 2 Pack #4 by Mattel - Man-At-Arms & Faker.jpg

These mighty Mini figures are about 2” tall, feature head, shoulder, and waist articulation, and each comes with their own accessories. Each 2-pack pits one hero against one villain, and includes a piece needed to build the Collect and Connect Minis Castle Grayskull®. The 2014 collection includes:

· Pack 1: Mini He-Man® & Mer-Man® (February)

· Pack 2: Mini Skeletor® & Moss Man® (April)

· Pack 3: Mini Scareglow™ & Stratos® (June)

· Pack 4: Mini Faker® & Man-At-Arms® (August)

· Pack 5: Mini Zodac® & Beast Man® (October)

· Pack 6: Mini King He-Man™ & Clawful® (December)

Source: mattycollector

Pre-Order sales have come and gone for the first series, the only way to get them now is from Amazon and other second hand marketplace websites. I missed the boat, (Insert sad puppy dog face). But then I saw that the new line of minis were up for pre-order and this time the diorama is not included in the packaging, instead it comes as the subscription incentive piece. For only $20 you can get a subscription which guarantees you get all six of the mini packs throughout 2015. Though we will miss him from MattyCollector.com, check out Scott Neitlich's (formerly the “Toy Guru”) review which reveals the new 2015 mini set in the video below:

Make sure to get your subscription in before 11/24/2014 so that we all can get these amazing figures in our hands and on our shelves. I think these will be a great addition to my collection -- I love MOTU, and these minis are just too cool to pass up. Well I’m going to curl up with this big bowl of Capt. Crunchberries and watch some He-Man with my son. I’ll see you guys next week - same time, same place.

> Play w/Us! <

bottom of page