top of page

Postcards from A Collector: 'Til Death Do Us Part

by Sal Rodriguez

I need to consider what’s going to happen to all my figures once I die. To think they could just end up at some yard sale earning pennies on the dollar. I’ve already assumed all my UFC figures will go to my brother-in-law. After all, he’s got a tiny collection himself, thanks to me, and he’s the one who introduced me to the UFC twenty-two years ago. But what about everything else?

WildSamoans.jpg
193_is2_hulk.jpg

I’m okay with all my 6” comic book and superhero movie figures going to an orphanage or a children’s hospital. They were meant to be posed and played-with. So all my Hulk, Superman, and Spider-Man figures can hopefully wind up in the hands of some kids who might actually appreciate the sheer play value of them. I’ll throw in my 18” NECA Superman and my 18” Toy Biz Super Poseable Spider-Man. They can even have my 12” Toy Biz Icons Hulk, which is my favorite larger Hulk in my collection.

41BYN90D0GL._SY300_.jpg

But how about everything else? My other 18” figures – Edward Scissorhands, The Crow, Friday the 13th, A Nightmare on Elm Street, and Pirates of the Caribbean? Where will those go? I couldn’t imagine kids playing with those! They are ‘adult collectibles’. Pirates’ Captain Teague is made in the image of Keith Richards. Do kids today even care about The Rolling Stones?! And my 18” NECA Hellraiser figures, Pinhead and Chatterer, those have to go to a horror fan who can care for them!

Surely there’s some library or community center that can house some of my television and movie figures. I’ve got the entire Heroes set by Mezco. There must be someone who would want those. I’ve got all the 6” Twilight Zone figures by Bif Bang Pow! Do you know how long I searched for that little Invader figure? He’s so cute! Maybe I’ll give those to my friend Robby. He loves the Twilight Zone. I’ll throw in the resin ‘opening-credits-floating-front-door’ bobble head too!

figj19jv2.jpg

My Full Moon Toys Puppet Master collection! Who will love those as much as me? My video review of that set is one of my highest-rated YouTube videos! Maybe I should have a raffle to see who gets them upon my death? Oh man, all my WWE figures? I’ve got about one hundred at home and another two hundred at storage in a metal WWE commemorative trunk. Who should get those? So many of my favorites – Rowdy Roddy Piper, Andre the Giant, The Wild Samoans! Who’s fan enough to want three hundred WWE figures?!

capitan-teague-piratas-del-caribe-neca-45cm-collectoys-410-MLA4687024513_072013-
20110824d.jpg

I don’t care what happens to anything else. Besides my car (my niece), my cats (my girlfriend), and my computer (my mom), what else do I have that’s of any significance besides my collection? I know I’m just holding onto these things until I die, then I’ll have no control over them. They’ll be dispersed and spread-out. And some savvy collector will offer up ridiculous prices for my prized-possessions. My precious. I’m going over to one of my display cases right now, open the door, and take a whiff…they’re mine now! From my cold, dead hands…

Subscribe to Sal’s channel + join us on Facebook!

bottom of page