top of page

Postcards From A Collector: I’ll Pay My Phone Bill Tomorrow Or For Sure The Next Day


by Sal Rodriguez

Okay, let’s see what we got here. I’ll just reach into this plastic bag from today’s excursion…

NECAPrometheus Holographic Engineer (Pressure Suit). This series never made it to Toys "R" Us. Seeing as how the first series sat and sat and sat on the shelf, it’s no surprise. I was waiting for this figure to get to any local shop. I found myself in Culver City, California today and stopped by Big Lou’s Toys & Collectibles. They had this and the Chair Suit figure. I passed on the Chair Suit. Under my desk lamp it‘s got a haunting look to it. Or is that the wine talking? $19.99 cash, in package. eBay: $15.96 + $12.95 shipping, in package. Amazon: $22.73 + free shipping (w/Prime), in package.

MattelMonster High Haunted Porter Geiss. I don’t collect dolls. (Unless it’s Monster High and Mezco Living Dead Dolls, apparently.) I picked this up at Wal-Mart. He was the only one on the shelf. Aside from their being aimed at kids, and tweens, they are definitely fun figures (okay, dolls). With his green skin tone he looks like he would glow in the dark. Or at least should glow in the dark. (I just turned off the lights and he doesn’t glow in the dark.) Damn. $19.98 + tax, in package. eBay: $24.40 + free shipping, in package. Amazon: $20.21 + free shipping (with Prime), in package. ( Editor: Or buy a whole case! )

FewtureDevilMan. I’ve seen this figure at Lou’s before. The price might have been too high in months past. He can stand on his own. He has no base or weapons. Not knowing the show or comic from which it originated I saw it as an odd, lanky figure, leaving much to be desired in the way of articulation. But finding him face down, strewn aside, was a great discovery. I’m in this for the thrill people of the hunt, people. $20.00 cash, loose. eBay: $30.00 + $12.00 shipping, in distressed packaging. Amazon: $66.66 + $9.99 shipping, in package.

MezcoHellboy Comic Series Johann Krauss. I had to have this when I saw it. Right away I knew this was a bargain. I could not miss out on this one! He’s dusty and needs a bath. He’s got that great, old-fashioned Mezco quality and durability. I wasn’t certain if he was missing a helmet. (The movie version is helmeted). If I had gotten only one figure today it would have been this. $5.00 cash, loose. eBay: $39.99 + free shipping, loose. Amazon: $48.95 + $12.95 shipping, in package.

BurroughsDisney Tarzan. Ever since I heard about the (recalled) controversial Tarzan with…ahem…kung fu grip action, I wanted a Tarzan figure! Lou had two. One plain, and one with ‘war paint’ face and chest. I opted for the painted one. He’s loaded with articulation – neck, shoulder, elbows, hips, knees, and ankles! He’s got a wind-swept, swinging-from-vines hairstyle. $5.00, loose. eBay: $29.99, loose. Amazon: Not available.

Saving the smallest for last: Art AsylumMinimates Battlestar Galactica Cylon. I fell in love when I saw this little guy. I’m trying to stay away from figures of this scale. But I love Art Asylum. I love robots. I love Minimates. And I love Battlestar. So, whatevs. I could not resist. Love, love, love! (Did I mention love?) $7.00 cash, in package. eBay: $9.99 + free shipping, loose. Amazon: $11.99 + free shipping, in package. And that was today’s haul! Maybe I’ll pay my phone bill now. Maybe.

Subscribe to Sal’s channel. And join our community on Twitter + Facebook!

bottom of page