top of page

Mind Of A Toyman: Reflections in the Plastic

From an endless list of vinyl collectables to extremely detailed action figures plus classic ones too, one of the most popular toy companies out right now is Funko.

Im sure we are all familiar with Pop!, right? The vinyl collectables line has one of the most comprehensive selections in the history of toy making. Built with full articulation and life-like details, 6 inch figures for the Legacy Collection rivals McFarlane and Mezco 6 inch toys. I always find my self buying two so I can open one for dis"play" (hehehe...). My main focus for today is something a little more nostalgic, yet still new. As of recently, I have really enjoyed collecting their ReAction Figures toyline. Comprised of several different cult movie classics, these 3.5 inch figures recapture the same throwback feel as the original Kenner Star Wars toys in both design and packaging. Brilliantly, this combination of retro toy production and archived licensing has truly hit the mark for older collectors such as myself. The similarities between the Kenner action figures of the early 80's and the ReAction toyline of today is amazing. Nostalgia and toy collecting generally go hand in hand and movies have always played a critical role in the toy industry, ReAction capitalizes on this with class and charisma. You can peruse an array of what's become available in less than a year right here. Please observe -

(Marty McFly next to one of my original Luke Skywalkers. Be sure to notice all the similarities between the two figures. Picture border/Trim, brand font, title placement, punch hole, etc... Funko had to buy this design from Kenner at some level in my opinion.)

(An assortment of figures I plan to receive soon. I especially like the Chunk figure, he even comes with the Baby Ruth candy bar! I also remember having silver screen monsters action figures just like this Dracula.)

(Biff Tannen and George McFly together. If ReAction ever decided to make variants of this franchise, George in the white tuxedo would be first on my list.)

(You may remember this guy from my ComicCon article. It's Jules from Pulp Fiction, one of my favorite gangsters of all time. This is a set I plan to complete very soon... 2 down 6 to go!)

(And here's Doctor Emmet Brown! This is my favorite figure for both Back to the Future and ReAction it's self. I wish Funko could expand this toyline to have vehicles too, having the Delorian would be the coolest thing EVER!)

Truly, these are the type of action figures I grew up with as a small child, linked to movies I grew up watching. Funko really is quite a company. The popular toy manufacturer cover a multiverse of fandom including comics, cartoons, movies, TV, books and public icons plus countless others. With a wide array of choices, some sort of Funko merchandise is on the top of every collectors list. What figures are on yours (click + tell)?

  • About Michael Paul: In between traveling daily as a logistics coordinator, Michael Paul keeps a sharp eye for local toy stores and flea markets. Comics, fantasy and sci-fi are the main drive for this action figure fanatic. Follow him on Twitter and his toy collecting adventures now!

bottom of page