top of page

Games People Play: The Power of Skylanders


My name is Jason and I have a story. It started out simple, "let’s just try it and see how it goes". well, I was wrong. It was just fun at first, but then discovering I had new abilities changed me. I had special abilities that I could change and grow with. I got stronger. I became more powerful, and before you even knew it, I was a master. I had a wealth of abilities and warriors at my disposal. I became a hero. I became a legend. I became a Skylanders Portal Master.

You’re right. I know it, but you see it's so simple to become crazed over this game. First of all who doesn’t love a readily easy to play game where you get a cute little figure that has super cool abilities! Level up those abilities to awesome status! If you get tired of an ability, grab another Skylander and become something else. The choice and power are all yours. Adults can play it, children can play it, and heck even adults can play it with children! That doesn’t happen often. It's just good family fun. There’s the hook. Good clean family fun! Only it’s not anymore. I am an all powerful Portal Master. I have changed. Absolute power corrupts absolutely has never been more true. I found my Magna Charge and now have magnetic laser beams at my disposal. Ninjini gave me the ability to wield swords and be a lady ninja. I could be anything and everything! The latest version of Skylanders (Trap Team) allows you to trap the bad guys in collectible crystals! I can now turn my enemies into my allies. My powers were growing exponentially.

What happened to me? Here I was this mild mannered geek who loved his video games. I played multiple games and enjoyed traveling to various worlds. Now I sit, with my portal, surrounded by my cadre of heroes who are all at my command. This is who I am. So thank you Activision. Thank you Toys for Bob. Thank you Vicarious Visions. You have shown me my true form. But it doesn’t end here. Like I said earlier, this is good clean family fun. I have nieces and nephews. They are playing Skylanders. They play under the tutelage of this Portal Master. They have begun collecting and leveling up their armies. They have Swap Force, they have Giants, and they have traps. We grow in power. Soon we shall be unstoppable. We shall become all powerful. We shall become Legion!!

Yes this is my story. (Sigh), I really need to get out more.

  • Jason Colby is an eternal geek who has been addicted to video games and collecting since he was six years old. He currently owns about thirteen different gaming consoles and over 300 video games. When he is not video gaming, writing about video games, or attending multiple video game conferences, his alter ego is a clinical social worker in the medical field.

If you are looking for Skylanders try here and here. They are available at many retailers in and around your area as well. Play on!

bottom of page