top of page

Monday Mini Madness: This Giant Will Not Be Felled!


Hello again mini figure fans! This week I am very excited to talk about Mystical Warriors of the Ring’s latest addition, Goliath.

First off I would like to congratulate Mark, creator of MWOTR, for a phenomenal release that sold out in less than two hours! This just goes to show how great of a figure Mark released, I know this has been in the making for a while now and Goliath was definitely worth the wait.

Shockingly I haven’t done a column about MWOTR (yet) so if you are unfamiliar you best familiarize yourself here [mystwarriors.com]. If you are a fan of mini figures and/or wrestling chances are you will love MWOTR.

THE MEAT

The debut release is a nice deep metallic green, which looks great on the figure. Each Goliath figure comes assembled and individually packaged. Without the individual packaging there would probably still be little to no chance that the figure would be scuffed up or harmed in any way. That being said, the individual packaging sets my mind at ease.

Goliath is the first (hopefully of many) MWOTR release to also be Glyos compatible. His part breakdown is: head, torso, tail, 2 arms, 2 hands, and 2 legs for a total of nine pieces.

Now the prototype of Goliath (available at D-Con) came with the arms on the wrong sides, I have played with mine so much that I don’t remember which way is “correct”. Personally I like the arms both ways, one has a I’m ready to grapple and wrestle you to the ground sort of look while the packaged look has a rawr I'm gonna beat you down look. (Those looks are different).

The sculpt is great, plenty of scaled texture, ridges, and spines. He is wearing a classic wrestling singlet. Big meaty claws make his squat stocky features more menacing. The muscle and face definition really bring the character to life.

THE POTATOES Now Goliath is a fantastic character and figure all by himself, but I would be lying if I said I didn’t want to combine him with other Glyos figures. It just so happens that The Godbeast had a Kabuto Mushi in the same color. I believe Mark originally posted this combination, I absolutely fell in love with it and bought Kabuto Mushi in this color solely to combine it with Goliath. This isn’t to say there aren’t other builds, I have seen multiple builds including Goliath, go nuts!

THE DESSERT Goliath (and MWOTR in general) is fantastic and I feel I can easily say will be one of my favorite toy releases of the year. Unfortunately if you don’t have one now you probably won’t be getting one for a little while (in this color at least) as it sold out completely. Keep your eyes peeled and I will do my best to keep you apprised of his availability.

Unfortunately the news I have is not super positive. The new Banimon figures have been delayed somewhat indefinitely due to the snow storms in the northeast and other Glyos releases this month they have said that they are looking for another weekend in February to help preserve everybody’s wallet. Again I say keep your eyes peeled.

  • Taylor resides just outside of Houston. He began collecting when he first saw (and purchased) Darth Maul from the Black Series, and has since expanded his collection to include Hot Wheels, Legos, Minimates, Marvel Legends, multiple indie toy lines, and much more. In his spare time he likes to read comic books and play guitar. Follow him on Twitter and Instagram @whywing01.

bottom of page