top of page

Postcards From A Collector: Saturdazed


I can’t believe I survived - I went shopping without my phone to compare prices! I know, crazy right? It was like sailing the seas without a compass; hitting the highways without a map. But I had no choice. My phone laid there, on my car’s passenger seat, dead. Power - zero. It was either head home or enter the abyss. I decided to “use the force”, relax, and rely merely on my collector’s instincts. I hit four stores in my area, all within a square mile of one another. How’d I do? Let’s find out...

I headed into a tiny curios and oddities shop. And there, among the fossilized piranhas and antique hypodermic needles, was She-Ra, of the Masters of the Universe Classics line. The packaging was open and distressed, so I would classify her as loose, but she was new. I offered cash, so it was $18-total, out the door. (Always have cash at the ready!) Amazon: $52.99 + free shipping with Prime. eBay: $39.99 + $8.99 shipping. Total #$%&*@& score!

Next was a store where, although they have a great selection, is usually pricey, even for brick-and-mortar retail. I often drop by, check things out, and walk out to find the figures cheaper EVERYWHERE! This time, in their display case near the register, among many other figurines and statues, I spotted Silver Surfer and Ronin figures, made by Funko. (I’ve been loving Funko lately! They really are a fun co. Get it?) I’ve developed a thing for these small figures. And they have springy bobble heads! I paid $8.99 for Silver Surfer and $7.99 for Ronin, plus tax, both loose. Drumroll… Silver Surfer - Amazon: $9.99 + free shipping. eBay: $5.99 + free shipping. Ronin – Amazon: not available. eBay: not available. I have no complaints!

Up the street to the next place, where they had just finished a book signing by Patton Oswalt. (Only minutes earlier I had seen Jay Leno driving by. Yes, I take living in Los Angeles for granted.) As the store cleared out, I made my way to the back, where they keep the figures. Although I have most of McFarlane’s The Walking Dead figures, I originally passed on Abraham Ford. However, within the last few weeks I’d changed my mind. Problem is, he was nowhere to be found, in person anyway. But today, behold! I grabbed him, new and in-package, and gladly paid the price of $16.99 + tax. Amazon: $14.99 + free shipping with Prime. eBay: $13.70 + free shipping. Okay, I overpaid. But, I was able to compare sculpts, support a local store, and see Patton Oswalt!

The last store I know quite well. 80% of the time I’ll find something, which is why I always go there last. This time was no exception. I browsed their large selection, coveting many things. But I’m on a budget, as I await a large check that’s due any #$%&*@& day now! This place sells many new, used, and loose figures, often re-selling entire collections. I checked out mini Godzilla figures - passed. I checked out Blues Brothers figures - passed. And then I saw him, ready to complete my Jakks Pacific The Scorpion King collection, was none other than (the likeness of) Dwayne ‘The Rock’ Johnson! I’d recently bought Balthazar, patterned after the late Michael Clarke Duncan, so I was ready for a (loose) Mathayus. Without hesitation, I paid $6.99 + tax. Amazon: $9.99 + $4.49 shipping. eBay: $15.99 + free shipping.

All-in-all, I’m satisfied, and have no regrets. Well, maybe one. I should have waved hello to Jay Leno.

  • Sal Rodriguez pounds the pavement in Los Angeles as an actor, comedian, writer, and editor. He began collecting figures upon discovering UFC and WWE figures by Jakks Pacific. He lives with his two cats, Fluff Daddy and Little Mister, and over 2,000 action figures. Subscribe to his YouTube channel.

bottom of page