top of page

Saturday Matinee: Spock Spirit


"It was a hell of a thing when Spock died." - George Costanza

Last week, Leonard Nimoy passed on to the final frontier, the undiscovered country, Sha Ka Ree, Phase II, whatever you want to call it. But he left behind him an enduring legacy (and hopefully his Katra, fingers crossed). Spock is one of the greatest and most beloved characters in pop culture, and personally, he's the first thing I think of when I hear the words Star Trek. I remember crying the last time I saw the first J.J. Abrams' film in the theater, because I suspected it would be the last time I ever saw Nimoy portray the character on screen. Thankfully, we got to see him again in Star Trek Into Darkness, even if it was a very brief appearance. After writing an article about Nimoy's death, life (you never know which one to put first with this guy) and career for my day job website, my next logical thought was 'order Spock action figures right now before the prices go up." Which I am proud to say is exactly what I did, and the real reason I have a computer and internet at work.

In 2008, when Barack Obama made history and broke through more barriers than the A-Team van by becoming our first ever black President, my immediate thought was: "The next step is a toy Horta. It has to be." Now, however many years later it would be if I bothered to count it out on my fingers Diamond Select Toys has finally made that happen. This is one of the very last figures of Nimoy's Spock to come out while he was still with us, and it's one of the best. This 7 inch figure and diorama recreates a classic scene from the first season episode "The Devil in the Dark." (see below)

The diorama depicts the cave where Spock approaches the Horta, and the detail work is amazing. This is one of the only figures I've bought in recent memory that had me thinking "Wow, I would have paid another $20 at least for that."

ARTICULATION/ACCESSORIES: I'm going to cover articulation and accessories all in one on, because they are connected. Or disconnected, perhaps. Spock comes with interchangeable, articulated hands and legs for Spock, which can be used to make him stand phaser at the ready, or get down on his knees and mind meld with the Horta. And yes, it even comes with a separate "Screaming Spock" head (best accessory EVER). Spock also comes with a phaser and two tricorders, as well as a chunk of Hora flesh that Kirk and Spock shot off with their phasers.

STAR TREK GALAXY COLLECTION GALAXY COLLECTION ORIGINAL SPOCK (Playmates) This is Spock Prime from the Abrams' films. Standing 3 & 3/4" high, this is not quite up there with the Diamond Select figure, but it's very good, and it really captures the striking difference in Spock's frame in those films as opposed to the way we are used to seeing him. ARTICULATION: Shoulder and elbow joints that swivel all the way around, and bendable knees. ACCESSORIES: Original Spock comes with an extra hand so he can do the Vulcan salute. I'm glad that Spock lives on in the form of Zachary Quinto, as well the original episodes, films and even the animated series, and from now on he will always be on my desk at work and my apartment at home, and I'm probably going to keep collecting Spock figures for a while. He has been, and always will be, my friend.

The entire Go Figure team wish heartfelt condolences to Nimoy's friends and family.

bottom of page