top of page

Mind Of A Toyman: On A Whim


I was enlightened to a great toy collecting tip today. Dollar General stores are selling G.I.Joe action figures for dirt cheap! The Hasbro set available is an older, small collection from 2012. The discount major store chain acquired this shipment of action figures a few months ago and begun selling them for $6 each, which is an average price for this particular set when found on eBay or Amazon. Last week at sometime the price dropped to $3 per figure in a clearance bargain. This tells me that the inventory is almost gone so go out there and get them while you can!

There are technically 12 figures total but only 6 characters listed with a variant linked to each. The characters are as follows:

  • 1st SGT. Duke

  • Green outfit & gray outfit variant

  • Shipwreck

  • Blue outfit & green outfit variant

  • Snake eyes

  • Blue/black outfit and green/black variant

  • Cobra Commander

  • Classic blue & black variant

  • Infantry trooper

  • Classic blue & black variant

  • Stormshadow

  • White/purple & white/gray variant

SMART SHOPPERS UNITE: Yes, the entire collection is available for under $40 if you hurry and find them now before they are gone! This isn't the first time I have bought collectable toys from Dollar General so I felt pretty good about going to investigate this tip when I heard it. Upon entering, I asked the cashier about the toys and she confirmed the information. She then asked me if I was indeed a collector and I replied yes with a smile. She then told me I was not the first guy asking about the action figures too. That prompted me to find the toy isle right away and see what was there. Luckily enough, I actually found the two I needed to complete my set back at home.

With a shiny glow and bells ringing, I got in line to check out re-engaging conversation with the cashier. She told me a wonderful story about an autistic child who's mother was driving around to all the stores in my area looking to complete the 12 figure set, it truly warmed my heart and made me think of my own mother hunting for action figures for me when I was that age. The action figures are exclusive to Dollar General stores while supplies last and once they are gone that's it!

I'm glad I only had two I needed for my personal collection or else I would be driving around the city rite now looking for the other 10 just like that mom I mentioned earlier Either way, can't believe I purchased 2 collectable figures for $3 each! Its good to have friends that keep you in mind, especially when it comes to collecting toys. The last thing I expected to do today was complete an action figure set from 2012 for $6 but it sure feels good now that I'm done.

Keep collecting,

the ToyMan

bottom of page