top of page

Postcards From A Collector: Devil May Care


I don’t believe in The Devil. But I do believe in devil figures! I’ve got a few. So, what the hell…

Of course, Hellboy is at the top of the list of devilish figures. While I suppose he’s not actually The Devil he definitely looks like a devil. This one is by Mezco, from a significant era for not only figures, but in particular, Mezco figures. He’s loaded with articulation. Could you imagine a Mezco figure like this today? (Moderately priced?) Neither can I. Presently, their entries into the marketplace consist of nicely painted statues with merely neck and shoulder swivel. (Yes, I know about the recent Batman. That's why I said "moderately priced!") Meanwhile Mezco’s Hellboy figures fetch a healthy price on the secondary market. Trying to find a nice one at a low price is one hell of a good time!

So far none of these devil look-alikes are evil. This next one being no exception. I didn’t even know anything about this figure upon purchase and I barely know any more today. I do know that he’s a hero character called Momotaros from a Japanese series called Kamen Rider Den-O. This figure is actually one step above a dog’s chew toy, appearing light and hollow. The articulation is definitely lacking, having only neck and shoulder swivel. But for being a relatively cheap figure his paint and appearance is pretty cool. I’ve seen a few video clips of the television show. Seeing a devil look-alike performing karate is pretty neat. 悪魔 is ‘devil’ in Kanji.

From my favorite Twilight Zone episode of all time comes “The Howling Man.” Unlike the previous figures this guy is definitely The Devil. I added the red Mystic Seer (Ironically also a devilish image from another Twilight Zone episode) to add a bit of splash and contrast to the black-and-white figure. For those that don’t remember the episode - a man seeks shelter in a monastery on a dark, cold and rainy night and is confronted by an imprisoned man who claims to be unjustly held captive by the resident monks. The weary traveler rescues the pathetic man only to find that he is indeed – The Devil Himself! The episode stars John Carradine as Brother Jerome. If they made a colorized version of this guy I’d get it come hell or high water!

Some of you might know who Jenna Jameson is. I didn’t know when I got this figure. (You believe me, right?) She was hard to get at a fair price. I searched wide and deep (okay, I’ll stop). She’s made by Plastic Fantasy, a company I’d never heard of (and that, you can believe). She’s called “Halloween Jenna”, and by the looks of her she’s ready to 69 on the 31st. (I’m sorry, I really can’t stop). She cums with (somebody shoot me) a base display stand, a pumpkin and a pitchfork that she can squeeze nice and tight. Yes, her clothing is removable. Yes, she is anatomically correct. Yes, I checked. Yes, I’m going to hell. See you there!

This is the granddaddy. This is the figure that you just don’t just have standing on your dining table. (Or maybe you do?) It’s at the entrance to my closet. Someone would have to go far into my bedroom and toward the corner to even see it. I’m talking, of course, about Lord of Darkness from Legend, made by SOTA Toys. If you ever wanted to scare off some Bible missionaries, this is the figure. I’m equally excited by the fact that it’s also a representation of Tim Curry, one of my favorite actors. Prior to this, the only Tim Curry figure I had was a horrible Rocky Horror Picture Show figure, made by Vital Toys. He’s not my largest figure, but he is the most expensive, and the heaviest. Darkness is the figure that might get people talking, and usually not in a good way. But ah…to hell with ‘em!

  • Sal Rodriguez pounds the pavement in Los Angeles as an actor, comedian, and writer. He began collecting figures upon discovering UFC and WWE figures by Jakks Pacific. He lives with his two cats - Fluff Daddy and Little Mister, and over 2,000 action figures. Subscribe to his YouTube channel and look for him in the recent commercial for AutoZone as Bernie the wrestler.

bottom of page