top of page

Hunters & Collectors: A Change Of Heart


Over the years of collecting, I, as I am sure many of you, develop different reasons for collecting different things; whether it be figures from one movie, statues from another, busts from a tv show, and so on. It also goes in part with the types of items you collect, whether you enjoy one more than the other. For myself, I always stuck to NECA for their Predator line of figures; the best details, articulation, and variation for just about any and every Predator out there. The counter to NECA for Predator collecting would be McFarlane Toys; though McFarlane Toys has almost always stuck to more statue-esque style and dioramas for their Predator lines. Over the years however, I started looking more into the McFarlane Toys line and now have a few AVP dioramas from their Predator line.

Why did I have a change of heart? Was it simply to expand the Predator collection in my home? Was it to branch out for the different films that were less accessible through NECA’s line? Simply put: I LOVE just about anything and everything with Predator, and the lines from McFarlane Toys were pretty different and added a nice variation to my overall Predator collection. I stick to NECA for the 8” Predator figures, Funko’s Reaction line for the vintage or retro style figures, and the McFarlane Toys selection comes in to fill the gap of dioramas and scenes from the films.

Though I start this post discussing my Predator affliction, a more recent change of heart inspired me to write this article. Funko’s line of Hikari figures was quite peculiar to me when they were first revealed. The odd Japanese style of proportions and overall design remind me somewhat of Nutcracker figures during the holidays, without the creepy single-jaw function from the back. These vinyl figures were not something I sought to add, but over time with the addition of new licenses and variations in the colors, I seem to be on the hunt for these! On the down side, the prices are not too kind for these 8” vinyls, and with low production runs it will be hard to come across these for even a decent sale price! The latest reveals (and exclusives) for Star Wars Celebration are shown below; personally the crystalized Clone Trooper and Matte Boba Fett are the two I am leaning towards, but nothing is set in stone until I see these in person. (similar are available online)

ENTER OUR CONTEST (5 More Days!)

bottom of page