top of page

Postcards From A Collector: Music on a Shelf


I collect movie and TV figures, comic book figures, and sports figures. But the figures which hold much of my heart are my music figures. And like the many zombie figures I own, all these music icons are dead…

When I was a kid and saw images of Woodstock, with half-naked, LSD-infused fans gyrating to the era’s icons, I wanted to be there. But I was born too late, missing the ‘60s and its counter-culture revolution. That’s why I had to have McFarlane’s Janis Joplin figure. It took some time. I patiently waited for a decent price. Sure, I could have bought her earlier, paying more, or perhaps getting her without her beautiful display stand or her hat and sunglasses. But I wanted all of her – microphone and all. I eventually paid about $40.

I was approaching early adulthood in the mid-90s, when Nirvana ruled the land. I had a friend and roommate who listened to Nirvana all the time, as in daily. I don’t think it was any coincidence that he was pretty depressed, my roommate that is. A depressed guy listening to the writings of another depressed guy. As far as grunge rock I was more into Stone Temple Pilots and Soundgarden. But Scott Weiland and Chris Cornell are still alive so NECA hasn’t made figures of them - yet. I paid about $20 for Kurt Cobain at retail.

At one of my many commercial auditions I ran into a young Elvis impersonator who was auditioning for another project nearby. We got to talking and I casually mentioned my music figure collection, including my Elvis figure. He asked me to describe the figure and before I finished he struck a pose – the very same pose as my McFarlane Elvis figure. Yes, I met the men who posed for my Golden Elvis figure. The King lives! And he’s been spotted in Los Angeles. I paid about $15 for Elvis on eBay.

The Doors are one of my all-time favorite groups, and its front man – Jim Morrison – one of my favorite ‘60s music stars. He had it all: the looks, the voice, and the women. Oh the many women. I tried to recreate a version of his life within my own. But to no avail. I’m no Lizard King, it was the tail-end of the 20th century, and I’ve never been that skinny. I’ll have to Break On Through to the Other Side with karaoke. I paid only $15 for McFarlane’s Jim Morrison figure.

If you’re going to collect NECA music figures Bob Marley is a must. Rumor has it that he’s a bootleg, having never been legitimately released. eBay is the place to look for him. He comes loose, with no microphone. I cut a wooden match stick and painted it black and silver to create one. If he is indeed a bootleg, he looks great. As good a quality as any NECA figure from ten years ago, meaning a decent likeness but lacking in much articulation. That’s fine with me. I paid about $20 for Bob, direct from China.

Once again NECA delivers. While the entire Fab Four would have been great, the denim-clad John Lennon figure satisfies. I’ve got both 7” and 18” versions. He’s not singing on stage but instead he stands in his New York look, compete with t-shirt and jean jacket. I’m not so familiar with his entire music library, post Beatles. But you’ll often find me singing “Imagine” over and over and over. I’m not so familiar with his entire music library, post Beatles, but you’ll often find me singing “Imagine” over and over and over. I paid about $25 for John.

The souls of these music greats live on…in my display case.

  • Sal Rodriguez pounds the pavement in Los Angeles as an actor, comedian, and writer. He began collecting figures upon discovering UFC and WWE figures by Jakks Pacific. He lives with his two cats, Fluff Daddy and Little Mister, and over 2,000 action figures. Subscribe to his YouTube channel.

bottom of page