top of page

Hunters & Collectors: Star Wars Celebration Hasbro Booth Hunts!


Well finally the time has come to spurt out all the goodies seen at Star Wars Celebration! There were PLENTY of things to be seen and plenty now to write about! One of my favorite booths to visit was of course, Hasbro, showing off their mostly current Black Series 6” line as well as an exclusive reveal that I know will be the most demanded Black Series figure yet!

Going through the curios of figures, Luke in Stormtrooper Armor and IG-88 were not far from their original released photos or recently released images of those who have early access to them. Although I am excited for IG-88 to grow the Bounty Hunter part of my Black Series collection, I don’t think Hasbro did it justice fairly. As for Luke in Stormtrooper armor, I loved the sequences with him and Han in the armor, but the figures again, are just not up to par for myself to have them in my collection! The “body” looks good, the head sculpt looks good, though the helmet being an awkward shape and size to fit the head is the only real “problem” I have, I still can’t get myself to like it!

Two upcoming figures I am utterly excited for are Commander Cody and Leia in Boushh disguise! Commander Cody has always been one of, if not my favorite clone, and his phase 2 armor is my favorite style for all clones. Hasbro was able to capture the right colors for the stripes as we saw in Episode III (some companies gave it a more yellow or more gold look) His helmet is up to par, and his accessories or additional features fit nicely for this character! As for Leia, the Boushh faced some criticism with the oblong helmet, but this figure displayed at SWCA seems to have no issue with that! I do think the colors might be a bit brighter than what we saw in film, but the design makes up for it as well as her accessories such as the staff and thermal detonator!

Now the set I am also very excited and anticipating is the Luke and Wampa set from Episode V. Hasbro did a great job capturing the scene with Luke dangling upside down and the Wampa’s arm (already) cut off but we get to see what these two figures look like in that form! Though Hasbro did not have an actual Hoth setting, I am sure customizers will be developing the Wampa’s cave to recreate the Episode V scene. The arm that can be removed seems to plug in with a swivel, and on both ends we see red paint for the bloody mess. The Wampa was also given blood features on the chin and chest, but Luke seems clean even after the attack and retrieval by the Wampa. This is a great set that Habsro should have released by now, but soon, soon it shall be ours!

And finally we come to the exclusive reveal! Hasbro showcased their prototype sculpt for the realistic Ahsoka Tano from Star Wars REBELS! This was a HUGE hit at the show, and I know for sure this will be a figure in high demand and fetch some nice prices once sold out, or even signed by her voice actress Ashley Eckstein. Ahsoka of course will be coming as a more realistic version, and older self as she is in REBELS, as well as two lightsabers she is famous for wielding. Fans were ecstatic when Ahsoka lived so she could return to the animated world, and now we have her in what seems to be the best figure yet!

SWCA didn’t have too many extravagant reveals, but what we did get was a great tease for what we hope to see at SDCC 2015! Be sure to like and subscribe to my pages as well!

bottom of page