top of page

Monday Mini Madness: Pack & Play


Greetings mini figure fans! This week we’ll be taking a break from reviews (last week really took it out of me) and talking about something I saw on Instagram. I’ve forgotten who posted it, and was unable to find it again so I won’t be able to give credit on this. Just know I saw somebody else doing this and liked the idea so now I do it to. Whilst scrolling through my feed a number of weeks ago I saw a small plastic case full of Minimates. This mystery person kept this case handy throughout the day keeping an eye out for photo ops.

I loved the idea so I grabbed a small case for myself to keep in my messenger bag that I typically have on me or at the least keep in my vehicle.

THE MEAT

You may be wondering how this ties into mini figures exactly. In my mind toys are meant to be enjoyed, whether that is strictly shelf display, play time, photography, or anything else depends on the collector. Personally I'm in for all of the above, but my photography game is weak. Taking this plastic case full of mini figures out and about on my daily routine is a way to enjoy my collection on a daily basis.

My original intention was to take more pictures of toys in everyday places, to become more active on Instagram. I really enjoy seeing other peoples collections but snapping a nice shot of a toy in an average, almost mundane, situation is pretty awesome. The way I see it, the only way to get these pictures is to have some figures on-hand as much as possible.

The case I currently carry with me is a Plano 3500 series Prolatch Stowaway. They can be found in the fish & tackle area of most stores that have a sporting goods section or online for somewhere around $3.00 - $4.00 USD. Dividers are included and adjustable letting you choose between five and nine compartments. Two tight latches on the front keep the lid secured nicely so you never have to worry about a spill. Measuring in at 9.13” long x 5” wide x 1.25” high this case is nice and compact, but will still hold a good amount of mini figures.

THE POTATOES

The best part about this is, if you want to use one to enjoy your collection more like I do, you can easily rotate out which figures you are taking with you. Already taken multiple pictures of your Widowmaker? No problem! Put him back on the shelf and sub in another figure. A constant rotation to keep things fresh could help foster creativity when it comes to picture time or at the very least let you enjoy more of your collection.

That’s not to say you may have some regulars, Goliath has been in my case since day one (I did have to take him apart to make him fit) and will probably be there for as long as I do this.

THE DESSERT

This ultimately boils down to what I think is a very fun way to see and enjoy your collection more, it may not be for everybody but I encourage you to give it a try.

May the Fourth is not only Star Wars day but the latest drop day for Onell Design! Scheduled for 9:30 pm EDT, don’t be late these things go quick!

  • Taylor resides just outside of Houston where he scouts local stores for new mini figures. When he is not spending his spare time with toys you will find him binge watching Netflix, playing video games, or reading a book. You can follow Taylor on Twitter and Instagram @whywing01 for irregular updates, not always about toys.

bottom of page