top of page

Games People Play: Mortal Kombat X


I have never been any good at fighting games. It is a sad truth. Ever since the days of the first Mortal Kombat, I was that annoying kid at the arcade who slammed every button simultaneously in hopes that I would look cool and some super move would happen. I can play most any other video game, but for some reason I am at a loss when it comes to fighting games. You would think that at some point I would admit my defeat, literally, and just move on. Nope. So when Mortal Kombat X came out I quickly ordered my special collectors edition and waited patiently. I’ll admit that most of me was in it for the amazing collectible figure of Scorpion. I mean just look at him. He stands about 10 inches tall and has a really sleek design. Rather than just being a replica from the game, the figure has a very stylistic look to it. It has very crisp lines and its golds are muted with just a hint of shine that give it some extra wow factor. The figure is great and looks awesome in my collectibles cabinet.

I now have a sweet collectible figure that I display proudly. I display it like I know what I am doing with this game. Unfortunately, I continue to suck at Mortal Kombat X. It now has interactive environments. If your character is in the right place and hit’s the right combos, then bam! You pick up a pylon and smack someone around with it. I can’t even do this right. I realized if I was ever going to get any better at this I needed to consult my friends who are very good at this game. What I learned from them was probably the most basic truth about this type of game. It's all about learning the combos and practice. If you would like to insert a great big DUH! right here then please do, however its true. Soooooo, I picked up Sub Zero and spent time practicing and learning moves and combos. You know what. It's true, I am getting better and can play the game longer. Next I began trying to get the fatalities, and, well lets just say it’s a work in progress and leave it at that.

So here is where I stand now. If I play as Sub Zero, I’m not always the person who is having the floor wiped with him. I can hold my own, (unless it is with a certain friend who is a ranked champion, then I am literally just a punching bag for her to practice on). I still cannot land a fatality, but I can watch them on YouTube. I still button mash though, rather than all the time, it's now used in a last ditch panic effort to save my life. In the end though, I can at least look at that Scorpion figure in my cabinet and not feel like a total noob.

bottom of page