top of page

Postcards From A Collector: Your Mother Has a Nice Figure


In honor of Mother’s Day, what better way to celebrate than to show-off a few of my very own mothers? The ones in figure form, that is…

Happy Mother’s Day Lily Munster – the matriarch of The Munsters household. As a kid I always thought she was so pretty. I even loved the way she walked. She seemed to float into the room. While this Diamond Select figure doesn’t look much like Yvonne De Carlo (I’ve heard due to licensing issues) she is a nice figure nonetheless. And in the price range she might be the best we’re gonna get. Herman is a lucky man!

Happy Mother’s Day Sharon Osbourne – the wife of Ozzy Osbourne himself. I’m guilty; I’ve never seen the reality show in which she stars. I’ve never seen The Talk or X Factor, but I fell in love with Mezco’s Osbourne family set when I saw them. They’re so cute! I bought each one separate to maximize savings. Apparently Sharon likes to shop because she came with a shopping bag accessory. The figure also looks like it had plastic surgery so it’s true to life.

Happy Mother’s Day Beatrix Kiddo – AKA The Bride from Kill Bill. While I also have NECA’s yellow jumpsuit version of the character I like this one a bit more. It shows more vulnerability than her counterpart, with her wearing jeans and a blouse, as though she was not expecting attack. And her sword contrasts her bare feet. Did I mention that Uma Thurman is incredibly sexy?

Happy Mother’s Day Tiffany – she’s such a doll! I mean literally, she’s a doll made in the image of a doll. She has “real” hair so one might have a legitimate argument in calling her a doll, as opposed to an action figure. I got lucky when I found this McFarlane doll at a yard sale. I think I paid $6 for this doll, which commemorates her appearance in Bride of Chucky. And it’s so cool that she’s voiced by one of my favorite eye-candy actresses – Jennifer Tilly.

Happy Mother’s Day Pamela Voorhees – Jason’s mother! Okay, not NECA’s finest work. But I was so excited when I finally got her at a reasonable price. Her knife still has the original rubber band on it from the packaging. I’ll not remove it from her hand. It would seem wrong to do so. I have her placed next to her iconic son, never to be separated again. Betsy Palmer, the actress who portrayed Pamela, is still alive!

Happy Mother’s Day Norman Bates – huh? Okay, Norman isn’t a mother, or even a woman, but it’s the perfect time to give an honorable mention to Psycho’s cross-dressing killer who assumes the identity of his dead mother when he stabs people. McFarlane’s Norman Bates figure, made in the image of actor Anthony Perkins, represents cinematic motherhood in all its Hitchcockian (yes, that’s a word) glory. What son loves his mother enough to wear their dress and kill because her voice tells him to? This was one of my first scary movie figures and I love her. I mean him. Her. Whatever.

Happy Mother's Day to moms both flesh and plastic!

  • Sal Rodriguez pounds the pavement in Los Angeles as an actor, comedian, writer, and newspaper editor. He began collecting figures upon discovering UFC and WWE figures by Jakks Pacific. He lives with his two cats, Fluff Daddy and Little Mister, and over 2,000 action figures. Subscribe to his YouTube channel.

bottom of page