top of page

Stay Toond: Justice League - Gods & Monsters


Hey Tooner’s! Sorry I have been MIA I have been extremely busy with a bunch of cool things I am working on there just isn’t enough time in the day. But I’m back with another edition of Stay Toon’d. Yesterday was an awesome day. Not only was it Free Comic Book Day it was also the second day of what I like to call Lennonpaloosa! What the heck is that? Well, it is my month long birthday celebration! For years now I have been doing this I celebrate my birthday the whole month long so pretty much everyday this month is my birthday, but really my birthday is on the 23rd of this month.

I had a blast at the FCBD event got a lot of goodies and saw a lot of things I want as well. How was your Free Comic Book Day? You can check out my adventure at yesterday’s event here. Now let’s talk toons shall we. I have been really going ape over this new DC Justice League movie I think it is great! The story of Gods & Monsters is pretty sweet Superman, Batman, & Wonder Woman with a dark side is by far the most epic thing to happen to the characters in a long time in my opinion.

This movie is apart of the DC Universe Animated Original Movie series, which are direct-to-video film projects created by Warner Premiere, Warner Bros. Animation, & DC Comics, with help from producers like Bruce Timm. Most recently the latest releases have included a large amount of the voice actors who worked on previous animated series and films from DC. (1)

The films in this line are more edgy and are aimed at a more adult audience containing more violence, profane language and mature themes unlike previous animated DC films in which Timm also was involved. Currently 23 feature films and five shorts have been released with more slated to come in the future. Most of the films have a PG-13 rating but two are PG. Many of the films are adapted from stories featured in DC comic prints and graphic novels. (1)

DC Comics originally announced at the 2014 SDCC that God and Monsters would be released this year. It is an original story written by Alan Burnett and directed by Sam Lui. It is executive producers are Timm and Sam Register. A three part animated series will be released on Machinima entitled Justice League: Gods and Monsters Chronicles it is set to be released before the film which is slated to be released on July 28, 2015.

Not much ahs been said about what the story will tell us just that it will give us a different look at how these heroes live in an alternate universe where Batman, Superman, and Wonder Woman exsist as much darker versions of themselves. (2) I’m more than excited than a chick getting a new set of boobs about this. Check out the trailer below and let me know what you think about this upcoming release. Will you be watching the Machinima series and getting the collectors edition with the Wonder Woman figure included? I know I will. Have you noticed the toys DC Collectibles are releasing littered throughout the article? Pretty sweet huh? I think they look pretty dope especially Batman! Will you be adding these to your collection as well? Definitely a big YES! all around the board for me. Figures coming in December.

Hope you all take a minute to check out some toons today and while you are at it check us out on our social networks and see what’s shaking. Until next time Go Hard! Go Fast! Go Figure!

bottom of page