top of page

Games People Play: Warframe


“Aren’t you excited its coming to Xbox One!” “I can’t wait it’s going to be sweet!” “That game looks crazy fun” “What’s Warframe?” Can you guess which one of these statements was me? The second I said it, I heard my internal record player make that scratching noise and realized I just upset some of my gamer friends. After a short period of roasting me for not knowing about this, I kind of just chalked it up to something I missed in the gaming universe.

Later that week, during a gaming session with some other friends, it came up again. “The game is free, you need to download it, and you need to play with us.” I was not about to argue with my friends (especially since the initial statement contained the words ‘free’ and ‘play’). I patiently awaited, and upon release on the Xbox One I downloaded it and began to play…for free. A free and cooperative third-person shooter video game by Digital Extremes.

In Warframe you play as a Tenno, one of the guardians of old who are cryo-sleeping. You are woken up from slumber as your talents are needed because three major factions are, oh I don’t know… at war! So the Tenno now join the fray against the Grineer, Infested, and the Corpus. You suit up in your Warframe, an exoskeleton that you can modify as the game goes on, steal a ship, and begin your crusade to fight the baddies and win the day.

The game has two major features that I really enjoyed about it. The weaponry and the customization. Yes you are in space and the weaponry is of a futuristic nature, but that does not mean that its all guns. Bows, swords, pole arms, and throwing daggers are all given a futuristic twist which make for a nice hybrid of a sci-fi/fantasy game. The other feature is the customization. You have the ability to manipulate the perks of your Warframe to suit both your style of play, and your keen fashion sensibilities, by finding perks and upgrades as you play. The game also has a micro transaction system so you can purchase upgrades before finding and building them. I rocked it with the bow and made my Warframe a super stealth type so I could be an assassin type character. Nobody heard me or saw my arrows coming, and not only because I was hidden, but because my costume was a light grey with a sexy neon blue attached to it, (which is very in for 2015). It’s all customizable and very fun to build. Here’s an image I found online that someone did with their Warframe.

Overall the game is fun to play. While I played solo for a bit to really learn the mechanics (I would recommend this as it is a bit tricky at first), once my friends found me and jumped into my game, it was on. I enjoyed the ease of being able to play solo or join a buddy, and I spent several hours playing Warframe online. I was not aware of this, but Warframe even released a collectible figure. My buddy sent me pictures of his Rhino statue (limited edition) and as you can clearly see, its beautifully done. I would love to get my hands on one of these for my collection. Sadly, my buddy will not share his with me (single tear falls down cheek).

The official polyresin statue is 8" tall and limited to only 5000 (he got #4964!). Rhino is posed without articulation in its numbered base and comes with all his weaponry (shotgun, pistol and Fragor Hammer). The contrast between the base and the figure in terms of paint is easy on the eye. and the sculpt is something between muscle and morphing animatronics. He's a beast. And talk about detail, while the paint may not be perfect elsewhere, they target focused to get the metallic weaponry just right. And if you order him on their site they throw in a few "in-game" bonuses.....a Rhino Noggle Statue, a Thrak Rhino Helmet and a Vanguard Rhino Helmet!

In wrapping up this article, all I can tell you this. Warframe is a fun customizable game to play with your friends. Sci-fi and fantasy converge very nicely in this online game. If you have the system (PC, Xbox, Playstation), and the money (remember its free and you can get it here), I would recommend this game for a good time. If you would have paid money for this game, please send me that money as I want one of these collectible statues for myself.

bottom of page