top of page

Mini Madness: A Whole New Frontier


Hello mini figure fans! This week we jump back into review mode with some new blind bags from Jurassic World. These blind bags are exclusive to Wal-Mart and come in a couple of different quantities; you can get individual blind packs for $1.92 per figure and blind 15 packs for $14.86. There are also Wal-Mart exclusive non blind packed tubes of three figures for $4.44.

The information I have come across on this line shows 12 different dinosaurs, each with three color variations for a total of 36 variations. The color division is interesting to me; you can’t get each figure in red, only four of them come in red. Those same dinos that come in red also come in dark green, four different dinos then come in grey and light green, with the last set of four being grey and white. If you prefer a more unified look they also made all of the dinos in brown. It should also be noted that most of the figures also have an accenting color, only a few of them are one solid color.

I bought four individual packs to start off and see if I like the line. If I like them enough I may even try and chase down a full set but we will see. If they end up being a bust I at least still have some mini dinosaurs to terrorize my other toys. The cardboard around the dinos is an interesting feature, I guess it protects the figures but it also may make it harder to identify some of the figures by touch.

The figures all have a nice texture to them and a fair amount of detail. They all carry the JW stamp on the right thigh which is a bit of a distraction but not too terrible. They also all have a stamp at the base of the tail of some sort of serial number, I’ve never understood why this type of thing is needed on a toy but at least it is fairly unobtrusive.

Of the four that I got only the T-rex has paint to distinguish they eyeballs. This is a feature that many toys skimp on that I feel is very important. They eyes define the face and a little attention to detail goes a long way.

The Spinosaurus has a metallic gold for the accent color, which looks a bit strange to me. A more natural color would make sense aesthetically for a dinosaur, but at the end of the day it’s just a color variation.

Sadly the Velociraptor is the loser of the bunch as far as detail goes. The lines and wrinkles are all very shallow and you can barely make out any teeth at all. I do like the pose but it would be much more intimidating with some better teeth.

The Allosaurus is my second favorite of the bunch after the T-rex. The only thing this figure is lacking is definitive eye paint. Another thing I really like about this figure is that it’s mouth is closed, the only one of the bunch with this feature. Even with a closed mouth you can still see the teeth better than on the Velicraptor.

Overall I like these figures enough to give them another chance. At the very least I have to track down the variations for the Stegosaurus which has been my favorite dinosaur since I was a kid. I also can’t help but wonder why there is no Brachiosaurus in this line, I think it would have been a great inclusion.

What do you think of these figures, have you spotted them at your local Wal Mart? Check out some other fun Jurassic classic collectables here.

  • Taylor resides just outside of Houston where he scouts local stores for new mini figures. When he is not spending his spare time with toys you will find him binge watching Netflix, playing video games, or reading a book. You can follow Taylor on Twitter and Instagram @whywing01 for irregular updates, not always about toys.

bottom of page