top of page

Postcards From A Collector: Army of Two Delivers More Than Once


I’m not a gamer. But I do love NECA video game figures. To me they’re underappreciated. It seems most collectors rush to the movie figures (or not) but often overlook NECA’s video game figure line. After all, it’s the video game figures (okay, and Twilight figures) that I’ve seen months or years later at discount stores like Ross or Marshalls.

There are few figures that make me say “Wow!” But just tonight, as I removed NECA’s Army of Two Salem and Rios figures from their place in one of my display cases, that’s exactly what I thought - wow. These figures still hold up. In fact, I believe them to be some of NECA’s finest work. And as I mentioned they’re video game figures. But you don’t have to be a gamer to appreciate the workmanship that went into them. They are pieces of art; little plastic ass-kicking art.

2009 is stamped on the bottom of their feet. Unfortunately I missed them at original retail and wound up getting them on eBay in (about) 2012. No, they’re not loaded with articulation as we’ve come to enjoy recently with NECA figures. They have zero hip or knee movement. But what they lack in articulation they more than make up for with intricate detail and cool accessories. I can’t help but think of Gears of War, also on my list of NECA’s greatest hits. The resemblance is striking. I’m not sure which came first – Gears or Army – but if you like Gears figures you’ll love Army figures, and vice versa.

They look like they could do some damage. I mean, if all my figures came alive, including my NECA Predators, Salem and Rios will have a fighting chance. They’re each well-equipped with three guns and a knife. And they’ve got retractable masks. What other NECA figures have retractable masks?! I would imagine if NECA were to make these figures today they would release them with alternate heads instead of retractable masks. These guys are so bad-ass!

These are the kind of figures that deserve to be opened and displayed. They cover all grounds – appealing to both adult collectors and to kids looking for figures built to be played-with in a rough and tumble way. Don’t get me wrong, I realize these are NECA figures; I’m not trying to test the joints. If I were to bust one of their arms I might not recover. I want them to remain intact. These two guys are probably in my top ten favorite NECA figures of all time! That’s right, I said it.

This is not a review, well maybe it is. Actually, it’s not. But I implore you (and I never say “implore,” so I must be serious) have an up-close look at Salem and Rios, measuring them against other NECA figures, both past and present. Stare into their faces (Salem reminds me of MacGyver’s Richard Dean Anderson), check out their clothing and paint, and see why these figures will never leave my sight and will probably be with me until I call it quits with collecting (which will never happen). Or will it? No, it won’t.

  • Sal Rodriguez pounds the pavement in Los Angeles as an actor, comedian, and writer. He began collecting figures upon discovering UFC and WWE figures by Jakks Pacific. He lives with his two cats, Fluff Daddy and Little Mister, and over 2,000 action figures. Subscribe to his YouTube channel.

bottom of page