top of page

Bots + Monsters: Wild Wild World of Nintendo


WWW: How much detail can you pack into a 2.8 to 5 inch figure and then put it on shelves for no more than $4.00-$7.00 USD? Quite a lot. To say I am impressed by this line of toys would be a massive understatement. My son and I take them outside to play Donkey Kong. He is two and convinced that we are the real life equivalent of “Donkey” and “Diddy” him a smart mouth like chimp and my likened to an oafish ape. On the subject of toy play these things are even more resilient than they are detailed. I cannot count how many baths Blue Toad has taken on a scuba diving adventure with a violent kraken toddler. Still no paint wear in the slightest.

My personal favorite in the series is the 5 inch Samus Aran (“Metroid”) on account of it being modeled after Super Metroid on the SNES (Super Nintendo Entertainment System), Super Metroid is one of my favorite games of all time and to own a figure and even play with said figure with my son is amazing. I also love the casual collectability they have.

Unlike Amiibo where if you are not awake at midnight on launch date you risk never receiving one. Most stores keep them in stock allowing you to find a few in the wild. Jakks Pacific is really doing a great job of fan service on these figures. From Captain Olimar (Pikmin) to Gannondorf (The Legend of Zelda) these toys are really worth their price and brings the long time franchises to life. My only complaint is that the appendage joints on the 5 inch series are more visible than desired but allow for awesome poses. PS: Did you know there's a WON Facebook Group? Now you do.

There's a whole world out there - have a look!

bottom of page