top of page

Behind The Figure: Frank Kozik


Frank Kozik is by far one of the most recognizable figures in the commercial vinyl collectable world. His creations range from his signature and affordable (and oft sold out) Labitt to lavish custom design that spares no expense. You may have seen our recent review on his Heathrow collection. This 50-something graphic artist (in the realm of Stuckism) got his early start in the early 80's making psychedelic and colorful band poster illustrations for Pearl Jam, Sonic Youth, Beastie Boys and countless others. These outlandish silkscreens emitted overtones of political farse, and general slap-happiness. Oh how we miss them thar days! Today his work is seen and collected internationally. It was a true pleasure to have a nice conversation with the man behind the scene:

Q: You were born in Spain, how did you end up in the States?

A: I came over to visit my father one summer and just decided to stay.

Q: Do you recall your first foray into the creative world? Can you share an anecdote of how that was sparked and what you did to realize your idea?

A: I always drew stuff and made little models and so on since I can remember. I had no dea you could get paid for it…and then one day someone offered to pay me for a drawing so...off I went, much easier than the work I was doing at the time.

Q: Besides for making wild and playful things you have a strong past working with rock bands - all those amazingly crazy posters (!!) - how did that get started and do you still collaborate with musicians? A: I was lucky in that I was exposed to a very cool punk scene back in the early 80’s..and tho I had no musical talent I was able to do little posters for my friends' bands and so on. Lot of those bands got big so right place, right time. I will occasionally do a poster these days, but just for fun.

Q: What is your favorite record of all time?

A: Its hard to define..I do enjoy old Metal a lot.

Q: You now work for Kidrobot. What is your official capacity with these pop culture toymakers - and how (if at all) will this change your own studio production work? A: I have accepted a contract to act as Kidrobot's Creative Director. In essence I am responsible for selecting and then overseeing the development of their entire product range. My own work also continues! Busy Busy. (Press Release)

Q: In what I would consider a brilliant stroke you did this banana riff on Warhol piece ("Mechanana") that was just perfect pop poignant. What do you think Warhol would have thought of it? What do you think of appropriation in general? A: I think appropriation is kind of OK if you take say 2 things stick 'em together and end up with a 3rd thing…..if that makes any sense. (Warhol) I’m sure he would have hated it.

Q: The Labbit has gone by many guises, and is one of your signature pieces. We have seen him smoking, with mustache and other accessories, mechanized, become a superhero or an s/m master -- and my favorite (being a vegetarian) the "Choice Cuts" version. Is there a favorite rendition that sticks out from the rest for some reason for you? A: Not really, they are all fun in some way.

Q: Who would you consider to be your contemporaries or greatest influences? A: Theres thousands of them! Contemporaries and influences! It’s a golden age of creativity.

Q: Obviously humor is a powerful potion. What is the balance of its subtlety for you, or does it even matter how bombastic we get as artists? A: Its easy to shock…but more interesting to confuse.

Q: In your international travels, do you notice any difference in the way the public respond to your work in terms of location? A: Europeans tend to politicize stuff I think. Other than that everyone ‘gets it’. Q: BIC Plastics, this is one of your projects, yes?

A: BIC is a Chinese company that produces pieces for me, the relationshship continues.

Q: As my brother from a different mother you come from the same era of punk rock. How important is it to parody politics in all art forms these days? A: Essential. All sides, since they are all the same bag of idiots anyways. Q: In your work there is this longing for new meaning. What have been some of your favorite themes to mashup and shift perspective on? A: Brutal dictatorships and cute animals.

Q: You have created lots of products and vinyl figures - but what has been the strangest material/s you have worked with? A: Probably the most ‘exotic’ has been limoge porcelain.

Q: While the creative channels have exploded wide, any suggestions for emerging artists out there?

A: Set long term realistic goals.

Q: What's next? A: Everything!

You can find delightful musing by Kozik at these fine (selected) retailers:

bottom of page