top of page

Size Matters: Hot Toys Spacetrooper

Hey toy freaks, Fransisco here with another review! This time we’re going to be taking a look at the Hot Toys' Star Wars Celebration Exclusive Space Trooper. This figure was revealed and put up for pre-order on the very first day of Celebration, which was April 19th. Although the character has a very short screen time of about 4 seconds the figure is incredible with the amount of detail they put into it.

Just like the Prototype Boba Fett this costume was designed by Joe Johnston and was actually worn by him in the film. The figure doesn’t come with a Joe Johnston head sculpt unfortunately but I’m certain a smaller company will take on the challenge of sculpting and selling Joe’s head. The armor for this figure hasn’t been denied or confirmed as having the previously released Hot Toys Stormtrooper sculpt, but I’m almost certain that it just has the newly sculpted heavy blaster and Jetpack/ breathing apparatus. The figure comes with 11 accessories including the interchangeable hands, weapons, and a thermal detonator. The base plate is a newly painted one from the Stormtrooper one being blue instead of red and having a custom nameplate. The figure stands at 11.81 inches which is slightly shorter than the stand alone Stormtrooper. The helmet has the Hero Stormtrooper sculpt which just means the helmet has 3 teeth on each side instead of 4 like the stunt armor has.

As soon as I saw this piece on display at Celebration, I placed a pre-order on it. I was instantly satisfied that I could bring home this memento without having to place a down payment right then and there. I chose the payment plan option and my payments start June 5th and are only $55.00. Which doesn’t sound too bad when explaining that to my girlfriend. All in all I have to say that I think this figure is going to be very amazing, just like the Stormtrooper Hot Toy. I was able to see the figure in person and I’ll grade it off of that experience.

I rate this piece a 4.5 out of 5 only because I was told the figure was a bit too top heavy from the backpack to stand on his own. The aesthetics of this piece make up for this problem and I’m certain that the top heavy issue will be fixed.

bottom of page