top of page

Games People Play: Where Does He Get Those Wonderful Toys?


Yes. It is one of my favorite movie quotes. Jack Nicholson delivers this line in wonder of Batman’s gadgets (yes, for all you young folk out there Jack Nicholson played the Joker and Michael Keaton played Batman in the original movie in 1989...Oh forget it. I’m old...I can live with it) as Batman flies off with Vicki Vale. I have often been asked this question myself. Not because I’m Batman (though you will never see us together. Food for thought?), but because I have a crazy collection of weaponry, toys, video game figures, etc. that make my house a geek museum. So you want to know how I have amassed such great levels of nerdiness? I offer you my four great hunting grounds. 1. Gamestop - Not a shameless plug, but a statement of fact. Being the huge video gamer I am, I am always pre-ordering games and talking with my representatives about collectors items and special edition packages. These are the key points for collectible figures, pre-order trinkets, collectible cases, etc. I always preorder the special collectors editions of Assassin's Creed and have all of the collectible figures. If you're a video gamer it’s the way to go. You're getting the games anyway, now just add the dollars and get all the extra goodies. Watch your prices and do your research though. Some of the collectors sets are great and worth the extra funds, but some are a let down. Make sure it's something you want, then speak to the sales people and look up the specs. (Editor's Note: Gamestop just officially acquired Geeknet, Inc. / ThinkGeek just last week).

2. Conventions - If you get a chance to go to a Comic Con (SDCC in less than a month!) or toy festival, I highly recommend you do so. So many people, companies, etc have special items or “con exclusives” that you can really find a unique piece. I was at San Diego Comic-Con and was able to purchase this little number for my “Walking Dead Wall”. Without revealing any spoilers, let’s just say it’s a weapon that most fans of the comic book series know, and probably hate. It was sold at the Walking Dead (Image) booth as an exclusive and is a great addition. People eyeball it because it hasn’t been introduced on the show yet. It's like having a huge secret, but it's right out in front of everyone. “What the heck is Lucille?” “Ooohhhhh, just you wait! You’re in for a huge surprise!” I’m a jerk like that.

3. Specialized Game Stores - Huh? What? Like Gamestop? No. Not like that at all. This maybe tricky. If you are lucky enough to live by a local game store, you may find the hidden treasures. I have a gem of a place, GMI Games, that sells independent games, board games, role playing games etc. All the nerdy stuff you will never find in a Toys "R" Us. They not only carry games, but for some of the collectible games they have limited run figures. They may also have special editions of games, or the really cool artifact for sale. I was able to find a collectible board game that goes in and out of print. It’s a whole lot of fun to play and is great for a social game night at the house. Now if I could just bring myself to open it up, maybe I could play it with someone. Check Comic Shop Locator for a shop near you!

4. The Multiverse - That’s my fancy shmancy name for the internet. We all know and love the internet, but let’s also be honest. She can be a real pain in the booty. Can you find anything you’re looking for? Pretty much. Are you going to pay dearly for it? Depends. The real trick to the internet is knowing what you want, hunting it, watching it, and then deciding how you want to get it. I have continued to watch auctions for Angelus’ Sword (from Buffy, if you knew that we should be BFFs), however I have yet to find it at a price I am willing to pay. In finding my Red Queen from Devil May Cry, I sacrificed the leather handle wraps for cloth and saved myself over 80 bucks! It’s a display piece, so I was okay with it. Making compromises like this, watching and bidding on auctions, and looking for sales can make the internet a cash cow for collectibles. You just have to put in the time.

So that’s the long of it peeps! I’m pretty sure 95% of the reading audience already knows some of these routes to collectible nirvana, but I hope that I was able to provide a new route or some minor insight into a new way of hunting down those geeky treasures. If I did give you some guidance, well then great and I hope you find all the toys you want. Now get out there and collect, but don’t forget to save some of those goodies for me!

bottom of page