top of page

Postcards From A Collector: Three Inches of Pleasure


I hadn’t heard of Disney’s Vinylmation when I was over at my friend’s house for dinner a couple years ago. This friend being someone who had done lots of office temp work at Disney Studios in Burbank. He had a few little Disney figures that I thought were cute. He told me he was going to sell them and assumed offering them to me would be a wise choice before posting them on Craigslist. He asked $20 for about seven figures. I said “Sure.” Maybe he got them for free, or maybe he stole them. What did I care? The price was right!

I went home and put them in a little display case on my dresser. And there they sat. Were it not for a spring cleaning frenzy they might still be there. And it was right around this time that I found out a little secret: you can trade one for one at any Disney Store. Most Disney Stores have a little box behind the counter that houses their Vinylmation figures. And you can trade one of your own for whatever is in the box. Upon discovering this, while in the store searching for the latest Marvel Select, I’ve since made numerous trades.

I’ve not even certain if any figures that are pictured here are from the original set that I purchased from my friend Richard; I know I’ve made at least five or six in-store trades since then, always as an afterthought while hunting Marvel Selects. But I’m the kind who always believes in “consolation prizes.” After all, that’s how my diecast car collection got started – I needed to buy SOMETHING if I didn’t score on a figure. Even though these little guys weren’t the reason I went into the Disney Store, they did give me a sense of accomplishment upon walking out.

Their only points of articulation are neck and shoulder swivel. But damn it, they are cute! And the variations are endless. Just look up Disney Vinylmation on eBay to see the infinite varieties of figures available. Why wait to see what’s in the store? Get what you want right now! For me, I’m holding out. I keep about four of them in my car for when I happen to be in the area. I walk in with my plastic bag of Vinylmations ready to trade. I used to lie and say “My son would like this one” but no more. I’m a free man!

The Vinylmation figures fit into my list of figures that I consider “cute.” Probably not anything I’ll be posting in the Facebook groups but a sweet little indulgence that seems to have no end. And since I’m now poking my head in the Disney Store almost weekly while awaiting the upcoming Marvel Select Hulkbuster figure, these tiny figurines bring a smile to my face and a warmth to my heart as even no Select has. They are adorable. But once I’ve traded all the ones I’d be okay losing that might be the end of the hunt. Cute is cute, but I’ll be ready to move on.

There are enough styles to tickle anyone’s fancy. My favorite of this group is the Brave Little Tailor figure, which at first I thought to be an homage to Pinocchio, but I’ve since learned that he replicates the character in the short cartoon of the same name. I love the little feather in his hat! Trade after trade he will remain. Even if I were to liquidate; he will remain. In writing about these figures I’m struck with the notion that I’m not just an “action figure” collector; I’m an “action figure, figurine and occasional doll” collector. I want it all.

You cab find Vinylmation on Amazon and through many retailers.

  • Sal Rodriguez pounds the pavement in Los Angeles as an actor, comedian, and writer. He began collecting figures upon discovering UFC and WWE figures by Jakks Pacific. He lives with his two cats, Fluff Daddy and Little Mister, and over 2,000 action figures. Subscribe to his YouTube channel.

bottom of page