top of page

Behind The Figure: Welcome to Clectaverse


Hey all LJ here with another super installment of Behind The Figure. I had the chance to chat with Steve Brumwell one of the founders of the upcoming website Clectaverse. Right now it is a Beta version of the website that is available for collectors to use. Keyword is beta; so don’t take what you see as the end or final result - they are constantly tweeking things under-the-hood to deliver a superior product. Steve is a UK-based collector with a dream wanting to help unite collectors around the world amongst other things…

LJ: Hello Steve, So what got you started or interested in the toy industry or should I say the realm of toy collecting?

SB: Well Star Wars really started it all for me I was obsessed from day one in 1977.

LJ: I’m into Star Wars myself I had a lot of older stuff growing up. My Mom pitched my stuff when I moved it was a sad day… So tell me what do you do at Clecaverse?

SB: We are trying to build a site/app that enables all collectors to collect, organize, share, discover, buy, sell, trade all in one place - we call it Collect Together. We believe that if we can get 1m collectors in one place then we can build a powerful lobby with a voice united against scammers and the manufacturers who take advantage of our addictions with some poor quality high price issues and reissues - we call this One Platform, One Voice.

LJ: That sounds pretty cool. Sounds like it is something similar to Complete Set is that a correct assumption?

SB: Complete Set is more of a directory, a checklist to see what you own and could own. We are trying to create something more fun and social coupled with tools that help collectors organize their collections.

LJ: There seems to be a lot of competition out there here as of late. What do you think sets Clectaverse apart from the rest?

SB: I wouldn't want to be arrogant and say what sets us apart, all I know is that we have a vision of making collecting a unified experience whilst maintaining the fun that comes with Star Wars vs Star Trek etc.

LJ: Interesting... How do you plan to deal with scammers etc? As a collector I hate both, but understand that flippers are a necessary evil, which I don't mind unless they are just being freaking outrageous.

SB: I think the best way to deal with scammers is to isolate them - if you can build a sense of community whilst respecting everyone's different tastes - then they look after each other and police the site.

LJ: Hmmm… Ok! So how do you feel the collectors market has changed through out the years? What trends or issues besides the ones mentioned do you see affecting the community as a whole.

SB: For me Facebook is ruining collecting as a community by building silos around themes and allowing overzealous admins to rule with ridiculously unnecessary, joyless, iron fists. We want to encourage communities but try to unite them as a whole if that doesn't sound too utopian. I also believe manufacturers are rushing and pushing out a lot of low quality, but high priced sets to capitalize on trends, which I think is hurting the industry as well.

LJ: I see a lot of arguments happen between admins of FB groups and pages. I agree it does get out of hand more often than not.

SB: Yes indeed it does I believe that the online collecting experience needs to evolve past the Web 1.0 paradigm of forums - Rebel Scum is brilliant in concept but in execution it's so hard to get into as a newbie.

LJ: What would you change in the industry or collecting if you could?

SB: All the nasty bickering, we need to make noobs feel way more confident and welcome. Also a more modern online experience as I said before.

LJ: I totally agree… So who do you think is killing it right now? In other words who are your favorite companies right now?

SB: Well in terms of collecting as I said I am a Star Wars nut! I love the original Kenner stuff I have nearly rebought all of it. I’m really into the 6” Black Series I just got Hoth Han and Tauntaun and they are brilliant! I love the Gentle Giant comic style statues and also KidRobot/BearBricks, Simpsons WoS, and Funko’s Reaction figures. I also collect Dunnies and Fan Art. I am also a HUGE fan of 2000 AD, Green Lantern, and Spider-Man.

LJ: I love Spider-Man and Funko as well. How do you feel about Hasbro taking on the Star Wars line?

SB: Well, I think Disney is doing a good job the quality seems good and prices reasonable. The new Rebels series and figures are good, but for me it's vintage Kenner and Black SERIES 6".

LJ: Well, Disney is in charge of the brand and they have been doing well with keeping the Jedi spirit alive.

SB: They get a lot of shit for being Disney but they know what they are doing with a brand and respect the audience in my opinion.

LJ: Indeed they do... I take it you are excited about the new Star Wars movie?

SB: Yes!!! My buddy and co-founder of Clectaverse is Morgan Spurlock and he is friends with JJ Abrahams and went on set, but was sworn to secrecy LOL!

LJ: Oh that is SUPER EPIC! I bet that was a great experience. Do you have a favorite Star Wars character? If so, what is it about the character that drew you to them?

SB: As a kid it was Han but now it's Obi Wan. One of the things I enjoyed about the prequels, I am not a hater or an apologist for the PT, they made Obi Wan a badass. As a kid Han Solo was just effortlessly cool. He seemed dangerous and funny. But I didn’t like how they wussed him up in Jedi.

LJ: Indeed Obi was a bad ass and Han is the epitome of cool!

SB: Well Luke is actually cooler in Jedi LOL!

LJ: Point taken… I’m a Luke fan, but Han gets the girl. What are you looking forward to being released? In other words what can’t you wait to add to your collection? By the way how large is your collection?

SB: Oh that’s easy Funko/Vinyl Sugar Vinyl Idolz. I have been following the Evil Corp designs since the early days my collection is probably around 500 pieces.

LJ: Is you collection all Star Wars?

SB: No not all of my collection is Star Wars.

LJ: Is there any particular design you are uber excited for?

SB: Yep Shaun of the Dead Hot Fuzz and Worlds End and Ghostbusters as that's my third fave geek movie after Raiders.

LJ: I kind of want the Shaun of the Dead ones myself, but I’m still unsure about collecting the line. They are awesome looking but I collect so much stuff I’m not sure I will have enough room lol! You said you were into Art do you have a favorite artist or art style?

SB: Not really - I love most fan art - big fan of a guy called Steve Yeowell who created Zenith for 2000ad. Also a guy called Shag who did some amazing Twin Peaks work.

LJ: Cool! Ok random question your house is on fire and you can only grab one thing from your collection what is it?

SB: All my stuff is in my office.

LJ: Well then the office is on fire LOL!

SB: LOL! In that case it would be my Robert Harrop & Quinch statues

LJ: May I ask why? Do they hold a sentimental value or something?

SB: Childhood comic memories of 2000 AD and I mean just look at them!

LJ: Aw man! I see your point those are some sweet pieces! Ok another random question chicken before the egg or egg before the chicken?

SB: I eat them at the same time normally with fries and a beer.

LJ: That’s funny! Ok He-Man or Lion-O?

SB: Lion-O… wait! No, He-Man. He-Man had better toys. Sorry that was tough!

LJ: Yeah that was a tough one and He-Man did have better toys, but the Thundercats is a sweet show! I’m a really big fan of Toys to Life toys and with Disney releasing Infinity 3.0 with Star Wars figures will you be getting them?

SB: I have the Guardians of the Galaxy ones and they are nice. Will wait and see, as they are similar to the Cartoon Network ones I already have.

LJ: Yeah I like the figures but not the game so much. So do you have any kids? Are they into collecting?

SB: Yes, but they are too young at the moment to get into collecting, but they do like Adventure Time. It is a fabulous program for bonding kids with parents.

LJ: Me too! I have pretty much all of there Funkos. It took me a second to get use to it, but after a few episodes I was into it heavy LOL! So where do you see the future of collecting heading?

SB: Well statues are more the mode these days. I think they have taken collecting to another level - some are just amazing works of art. I am more of a figure and toys guy though with some Kotobukiya and Gentle Giant statues sprinkled into the mix. Gentle Giant is my favorite and Kotobukiya is well priced. I like how Funko Reaction figures have gone “Old School” 3d printing is kind of a solution and a problem.

LJ: I have a few statues myself getting more into them. I look at all toys etc. as works of art because they are you can just play with most of them. Why do you say 3D printing is a solution/problem?

SB: Well fakes are the problem, but also making your own stuff is very cool.

LJ: Is there a lot of fake stuff floating around more than their use to be?

SB: I think because collecting is now seen as cool and popular fakes are way more prevalent to collecting more in the mainstream public.

LJ: Do you think there will be a time where action figures disappear?

SB: I hope not. I think the Re-Action line shows the demand still for action figures. It depends whether in the future the new generation of Star Wars fans buy figures if they do then the next 20 years is safe.

LJ: Do you think that Star Wars fans make that big of an impact on the collecting world?

SB: Yes I think Star Wars pretty much invented pop culture collecting, as we know it today, merchandising wise and George Lucas knew that it would. Of course there was stuff before but not really like Star Wars. I don't mean it is better or superior it just kind of set the tone back in the late 70s.

LJ: You have an interesting point the Star Wars community is extremely large. Well I don’t want to hold you up any more than I have tell me what the future holds for Clectaverse and where can the readers where they can find you

SB: We can be found at www.clectaverse.com 24/7 in every multiverse! We are raising $1.5m, hiring a team, having fun, and just trying to build the best site we can for collectors, as we are collectors it’s a labor of love… By the way you don’t happen to know anyone with a spare $1.5 M?

LJ: That is a lot of cash and buddy if I did we would be having a different conversation LOL!

I really enjoyed chatting with Steve and getting to know more about Clectaverse and relating to another fellow collector. Join me next time on Behind the Figure where I will be interviewing the owner and founder of Foom Toys. Be sure to check us out on our social media pages we love hearing from you guys so don’t be shy sound off at will. Until next time Go Hard! Go Fast! Go Figure!

bottom of page