top of page

Postcards From A Collector: But Does Your Figure Talk?


Collectors don’t seem to like gimmicks in figures. Such as figures with sound chips or figures with “punching action.” Collectors enjoy static figures. Articulated, but static. I think gimmicks in figures might seem too “toy-like” for a lot of collectors. A “made for kids” toy just doesn’t have the same appeal as an “adult collectible.” I, however, like figures with gimmicks!

My second highest rated YouTube video review is of a Hulk figure with a gimmick. I reasoned that it’s because kids, and not just adults, are the ones viewing it. And many people will tell you, “If you want YouTube views focus on toys, not just adult collectibles.” The toy market is still fed by the desires of kids (and their parents’ dollars, of course).

I just picked up a new Spider-Man figure. He’s not flying off the shelves by any means. In fact, “talking” Spider-Man, Iron Man and Hulk are “warming the shelves” at The Disney Store. And even I, as someone who likes gimmicks, was hard-pressed to buy these new figures. But after looking over their articulation, noting their $20 sale price, and giving myself the go-ahead, I plunked down the money.

I think gimmicks are cool, assuming the articulation and paint doesn’t suffer. I like sound chips! And in this case, not only does Disney Store Ultimate Spider-Man “talk” but he’s got “web slingin’ action!” He’s a 13” figure with 12 points of articulation and he shoots web! (Okay I just lost one of his webs somewhere on my cluttered desk.) But whatever! He’s got two cool gimmicks!

So let’s hear what he has to say when you press the spider logo on his chest: “Friendly neighborhood Spider-Man coming through.” “No, I’m not an Avenger but I have them on speed dial. And Tony Stark is a personal friend.” “Yeah, I’m buddies with Captain America. It’s not a big deal.” He’s advertised as having “15+ phrases!”

So you’re gonna tell me that you’d rather have a 13” articulated figure with no sound chip than one with a sound chip saying character-specific phrases? I wish all my figures had some sort of gimmick! Again, assuming we’re not detracting from his articulation or sculpt, why not? Is it too “childish” for us? Really, it seems like a lot of adult collectors are against it. I’m not one of them. Bring it on. I like gimmicks.

  • Sal Rodriguez pounds the pavement in Los Angeles as an actor, comedian, and writer. He began collecting figures upon discovering UFC and WWE figures by Jakks Pacific. He lives with his two cats, Fluff Daddy and Little Mister, and over 2,000 action figures. Subscribe to his YouTube channel.

bottom of page