top of page

Pop News Ahoy from the Great White North


I know everyone is loving collecting Funko POP! figures, but let's not forget about Mystery Minis. Every time I see one of these boxes in the store and pick it up I'm reminded of what Brad Pitt said in the movie Seven, "What's in the box, What's in the box, Cm'on tell me."

I'm here to let you know to this day I've only ever found spectacular little molded friendly figures in the box. There's a line of figures for everyone from Disney to Horror icons. I have to say that I love these little figures to the point where it's sickening. The most enjoyable aspect about the mini is how little space they take up. I can fit them nicely on any level in a display case, whereas Funko POP! boxes usually are lined up across the cabinet resembling the Great Wall of China.

You get all the great detail of a Funko POP! figure minus the amount of space taken up, and you know what that means? More space to collect more Minis! Another cool thing about the Mystery Minis boxes are the variants you might get a chance to own: from a glow in the dark character to other special types.

Should you get Mystery Minis? Well that's something only you can answer. But to mildly push you in the direction of yes, here's a few of my favorite lines that are out right now:

HORROR: The Horror line consists of, you guessed it, Horror's most notable icons (Freddy Krueger, Jason Voorhees). There's also a second line of these coming out this year. So hurry up and catch up!

SCI-FI: From the Predator to Spock, this line covers a wide range of Science Fiction greats. How cool is it to have Robocop standing beside the Alien from the Alien movie series? There is also a second line of these Science Fiction icons coming out very soon. I really can't wait. Funko has mass produced figures in what seems to be a unlimited supply.

Could you imagine future lines like?.....

  • Late Night Talk Show Hosts of past and present. (Conan O'Brien line is coming so you never know.)

  • Famous Movie Directors (I would love a glow in the dark John Carpenter.)

  • James Bond through the years (Pussy Galore anyone?)

  • Japanese Giant Monsters and Robots (I doubt this will happen because of licensing restrictions.)

The future is bright for the Mystery Mini box, and who knows maybe someday we will see a "mini" Brad Pitt in the box.

Later eh, Canadian Chris

Find Them on Amazon: Science Fiction, Avengers 2, Justice League (and more)

Find Them on Entertainment Earth: Walking Dead, Heroes, Garbage Pail Kids

bottom of page