top of page

Customizers Inc: Custom of the Week


Welcome to the new Customizers Inc.

In the coming weeks I will be telling stories about customizing, interviewing customizers about their processes, and each week I will be choosing a custom of the week. But first, a bit about me:

PEACE or PIECES?

My name is Mat, I live in Melbourne, Australia, I've been customizing for about five years now, before I customized, I drew. I also collect, mainly NECA and McFarlane. My collection isnt huge, if they're lucky, the figures get left in peace on my shelves, if not, they end up in pieces, either as part of new figures, or in my fodder box.

Anyway thats enough about me, lets go on with the customizing. I guess the main focus of my weekly column is take what I know and hopefully what you all want to know, and apply it words that make for good reading, I'm not entirely sure where this opportunity that I have been blessed with will lead me, but I promise that I will dedicate my work to giving you, the reader, exactly what you want.

And now, my very first Custom of the Week

This week I have chosen a Wild West-style Ghost Rider by Luis Morgan, from Chiapas, Mexico. Now, the base figure is a NECA Jonah Hex figure which Luis has repainted, and added the classic flaming skull. But Luis has gone one step further and re-done the figures packaging. So why is this my pick for figure of the week?

Just look at it! It's Western Ghost Rider! What I really love about the custom is the execution, the figure itself is pretty straight forward when you think about it, more or less a head swap, but just look at the paint job, people can get very carried away with their customs, I think a true sign of a good customizer is knowing when to just leave it, and this custom, albeit fairly straight forward, is executed flawlessly. And the packaging! You see alot of this, but this truly looks like something you could walk into a shop and buy, and whether it seems so or not, that's not an easy thing to do.

All things considered, I give this guy 8/10.

So thats it for this week, until next week, keep up the customs!

  • If anybody has any ideas they would like to put forward, hot topics they think I should covering, or customizers they think deserve a good bit of recognition, or even just want someone to swap ideas with, dont hesitate to drop me a line on Facebook. Furthermore I would like to take this opportunity to thank the team at Go Figure News for being so welcoming.

bottom of page