top of page

Postcards From A Collector: Will the Real Ant Man Please Stand Up?


I’ve been waiting to find Mezco’s Gomez at a good price. I paid $50. I’ve never seen it for anything below $150 plus shipping. Not since its original release anyway. This recent seller must have been desperate. Maybe he has a drug problem. But that’s none of my business. (Insert Kermit the Frog drinking tea meme here.) I’ll just consider myself lucky.

Man, this is a fun figure. The included stand allows for dynamic poses. He’s doing a Michael Jackson-style dance pose right now because he can. Even if he had no props or spare hands, no weapons, no Martini…yes, Martini…he’d still be a super fun figure!

$50 is a fair price, especially considering he’s a (2008) Comic-Con Exclusive. And real cloth clothing? Some figure collectors get all bent out of shape about cloth clothing. “He’s a doll,” they say. “I don’t collect dolls.” Good. That leaves more for me!

He has a Flash Gordon-esque laser pistol and a katana sword. He has two extra sets of hands, a Martini and a boom box. Depending on the hands he uses he can hold the sword, the gun or the katana. You know the drill. You can have him carrying his boom box as he prepares for a gun fight. Or he can hold his sword as he walks with his boom box. If he had a sheath for the sword that would be great! Otherwise it seems to be an either/or thing. I wish I could combine all of them in one pose.

It’s all about the head. It’s an ant head. His name is Gomez – he’s Mezco’s mascot. He seems to be some sort of spy. By the Martini I’d gather a 007-ish international playboy. And he’s totally old skool because his boom box has a cassette player.

I believe there’s another version with a leather jacket. Either that or this figure had a jacket that has been lost or stolen. After all, I got this figure used. Oh did you think I paid $50 MOC? That would have been nice. He would have been at least $200 MOC. This guy, his box had been opened. He was put back nicely but I suppose it’s possible he could have had a jacket at one point. It’s a cool jacket too.

Man I love this stand. There’s just so many options for posing. I’m not even a big poser. In fact I’m a vanilla poser. I just have no room! But this neat stand allows for so much positioning. And it actually seems to vanish. It’s black, but it seems almost invisible, camouflaging itself into its environment.

He stands almost 10.5 inches. He’d be considered an odd scale. More than 8 inches, yet not quite 1/6 scale at 12 inches. I don’t normally collect figures this size but when I do…I make it a bad ass figure like this. And we haven’t even touched his articulation, which consists of antenna, neck, shoulder, elbow, waist, hip, knee, and ankle movement. But be careful! Midway through this review I dropped Gomez, breaking one of his antenna. I sat on the couch, sulking, before returning to my desk, gluing him back together and completing this review. Moral: don’t drop your figures. The night was nearly ruined.

  • Sal Rodriguez pounds the pavement in Los Angeles as an actor, comedian, and writer. He began collecting figures upon discovering UFC and WWE figures by Jakks Pacific. He lives with his two cats, Fluff Daddy and Little Mister, and over 2,000 action figures. Subscribe to his YouTube channel.

bottom of page