top of page

Hunters & Collectors: SDCC Exclusives Throwback!


I have not been attending San Diego Comic-Con for very long, (2011 being my first year), but in those few years of attendance, there have been some super awesome exclusives that have been both a struggle and ease to obtain, as well as a our joy to add to my collection. Today I would like to share some of my favorites from years past.

My first year in 2011, I did not pick up a specific SDCC exclusive; I ran to the Sideshow Collectibles booth with not a clue how the exclusives process worked or if they even had an exclusive! After chatting with the attendant, he pulls out the last exclusive available that was brought as an extra to those who pre-ordered. This was the Alien v Predator bio mask set of the Predators! Chopper, Celtic, and Scar's scaled masks were now the first official convention exclusive I obtained while actually attending a convention! These are great pieces for Predator fans, simple, not too large to take up a lot of space, and you get all THREE!

I was unfortunately not able to attend SDCC in 2012, but took part in Hasbro's post-SDCC sale online and was able to order the Star Wars Carbon Chamber set! This was actually not a huge hit at the con, nor did it have a lasting or future popularity . . . However, I don't (and neither should you) collect things based on what others think! I love this set, and it came with a really cool surprise: Jar Jar frozen in carbonite as a full carded figure! Something fun, interesting, and unique!

Hasbro revived themselves in 2013 with the Black Series 6" Boba Fett SDCC exclusive, and again in 2014 with the Jabba's Palace 6" set. I never did obtain the Boba Fett exclusive, but once again took part in Hasbro's post-SDCC sale to add another favorite to my collection. A few custom additions Slave Leia, and the individual Boba Fett, and this set was complete!

Another contender taking over my shelves and plenty of other hunters and collectors is NECA. 2013 was the year I truly became a NECA fan and collector, adding Albino to my collection, with Ahab in 2014! Two fantastic Predator figures, and exclusives at that! Though one (Albino) has no accessories while the other (Ahab) has a ton, they are both unique in their own way and add great style to my Predator collection!

CONTEST: Do YOU want to win an SDCC Exclusive this year (without leaving your own backyard)!? How about NECA's Ambush Predator? Maybe others!? Head over to Earth2Geek to enter to win an SDCC exclusive!

bottom of page