top of page

Postcards From A Collector: Do The Robot


I love robots! While I don’t make it a point to go out and get robots, they’ve become a large part of my collection. Especially little robots. Little, tiny robots. Oh how I love them…

How about those hybrids?

Robocop. He could be considered a hybrid – half man, half robot, all justice! Did I just make that up? I get most Robocop figures that are released. I guess he’s like a cyborg. These three figures by Orion, Mezco, and Funko are like little jewels to me. The taller one by Orion has a removable helmet!

Evil comes in pairs.

You’ll never hear me sing Hasbro’s praises but these Marvel’s Destroyer figures are so great! They even light up. Well one of them does. The other needs a battery. I tried to get a discount at TJ Maxx when I bought him but to no avail. Wait, is Marvel’s Destroyer a robot? He looks like one anyway.

Speaking of Marvel

I love Marvel Select Ultron! I hear they might release a new version but this one is my favorite. I know he’s not the movie version. And we know movie versions end up overshadowing the previously-released comic book version. And I know he’s not particularly a tiny figure. But whatever. This is a must-have for any Marvel Select collector!

Forbidden love.

I always confuse Robby the Robot from Forbidden Planet with Robot B-9 from Lost in Space but apparently they’re different. Luckily I found myself in a collectibles store that didn’t make you actually be surprised with a blind box. They already had them opened! I chose Robby, of course. Blind my ass!

You are now entering…

Do you know what I had to go through to complete my Bif Bang Pow Twilight Zone set? This little alien “invader” went up in price BIG TIME! I ended up buying him loose for about $20 and was so happy to do so, especially since it appears the series has reached an end.

I’m crying now.

Okay I cried when I watched Wall-E. Yes, I did. You happy now? Man I love that little guy. He was so lonely! I have three versions of him, all in ascending size. This one is the smallest one. He has articulation and was only about $10! He’s a Thinking Toy which I suppose is the name of the company. He has wheels and can roll!

Honorable Mentions

1. Art Asylum’s Cylon from Battlestar Galactica. He’s reminiscent of a MiniMates. Wait, didn’t Art Asylum invent MiniMates? I think I read that. He has a bunch of articulation!

2. Japan’s Tin Age robot. He has lots of real metal. But don’t try to move his arms. They have no articulation.

  • Sal Rodriguez began collecting figures upon discovering UFC and WWE figures by Jakks Pacific. He lives in Los Angeles with his two cats: Fluff Daddy and Little Mister, and over 2,000 action figures. Subscribe to his YouTube channel.

bottom of page