top of page

Heroine: Xena Revival Just A Rumour


Word was that NBC and NBC Universal International are planning a Xena: Warrior Princess revival. Although it is very early, I can already say I will be quite wary of it. When I was younger, I used to love the Xena TV series (I haven't seen it for a long time) but I am pleased that it has been said they would like Lucy Lawless to be involved with this new project, apparently both on screen and behind the scenes, but there has been no word from the actress herself as to whether or not she will be returning.

The new Xena is preliminary set for 2016 but they are still searching for a writer. Rob Tapert and Sam Raimi, the show's original executive producers, are already on board. Sources have said "The new Xena would have to have the charisma and charm of Lawless and the smarts of The Hunger Games' Katniss - as producers are said to be looking for a sophisticated and smart superhero for a new generation."

As for the last part of this statement, Xena was already a sophisticated and smart superhero for another generation but I am very curious as to how this will play out. Reviving Xena is a fantastic idea and, with Lucy Lawless on board (hopefully), should inspire a new generation with an independant female superhero.

bottom of page