top of page

Japanimazing: An Intro


Greetings to one and all, and welcome to the world of Japanimazing! My name is Desmond Childs (or DC), and I’m absolutely thrilled to be embarking on this new endeavor here on Go Figure News. For my first official article here on the website, I’m going to tell you a bit about myself when it comes to this particular fandom as well as some other things I’m into.

I truly believe that the potential within animation is limitless. There are no props or bad weather to worry about. The actors are usually pretty low maintenance. And things are never too farfetched, because within the context of an animated universe—virtually anything is possible. Well, provided the rules of that universe allow it. With that being said, I plan on guiding you the reader through the magic of Japanese animation.

I have been a fan of anime for over a decade. The very first anime that I got to watch was a film called Ninja Scroll. I then went on to Detective Conan, Slayers, Ranma ½, and Golgo 13. I now have a special shelf jam-packed full of my favorite shows and movies that I’ve collected over the years. I’ve been reviewing anime and manga since 2005, and the one thing that has remained constant about anime is that it’s constantly changing. Anime is changing so often, that there are actually trends that appear with every new handful of titles that debut.

Outside of anime, I enjoy the overall culture of Japan and Asia as a whole. I spent four years reviewing 100 feature-length films and it was a fantastic way to immerse myself in the pop culture of a continent on the other side of the world. I currently have a blog where I study current events in Asia as well as Africa and Europe. I love learning about different cultures, and sharing that with the reader.

I am a huge basketball fan! Being from Dallas, Texas—I love the Dallas Mavericks! I am a Mavs fan for life! I also enjoy reading, whether on my tablet, phone, or good old paperbacks. My favorite actor is Jackie Chan because of the stunts and his humor. And my favorite movie is Rush Hour. I’m happily married with two children! I’m trying to think of anything else I’m willing to share without feeling to weird, but I can’t think of anything at this moment. I’ll work on it and bring it back. One things for sure, I’m grateful for the chance to bring a whole new world of stories, characters, and collectibles to you the reader!

Until next time, Sayonara! Oh, and join us on Facebook for more.

bottom of page