top of page

What’s Your Story Toy Story?


I enjoyed Disney Pixar’s Toy Story, but I couldn’t tell you much about it, having the non-treatable condition called cinemanesia which doesn’t allow the sufferer to retain much in the way of movie memories.

But when I saw these guys I thought they would fit quite well into my collection of 6 inch-8inch figures. I’m so glad these are made by Mattel and not Hasbro. Or am I?

I like the way these figures look. But I am disappointed in their articulation. Surprisingly, that doesn’t happen too often because I usually know what I’m getting into. Could Hasbro have done better? Woody was misleading. I thought his elbows and knees had bendability. Sadly, that is not the case. But man he sure looked that way when he was in the box, like he might have awesome articulation! But he doesn’t. Neck swivel? No. Wrist rotation? No. Perhaps I was expecting too much in a figure I paid maybe $12.99 for. He does have shoulder swivel and hinges at his hips and that’s it. He is very cute though and he can stand on his own with some coaxing. I just discovered he has ankle swivel! His cowboy hat is removable and fits well.

Buzz Lightyear is much shorter than Woody, and like his buddy has much less articulation than I had hoped for. I do like his appearance but, man I thought his elbows had hinges and they don’t. And it looked like his knees had hinges and they don’t either! I also thought his “glass” helmet could be adjusted but it can’t. He does, however, have neck, shoulder and hip swivel. And he stands quite easily. I didn’t even consider whether his wings can deploy because they definitely can’t. But again, Buzz will look nice on a shelf next to Woody, ready for an adventure!

I started collecting diecast cars as a consolation prize when I don’t find any figures out there on the hunt. I’ve amassed quite a collection over the last eight years. If I’m not mistaken, I got these Toy Story Hot Wheels even before getting any Toy Story figures. This set was $11.88 on sale at Target. There are other boxed sets in this line. This particular set includes Rex Rider, Hamm on Wheels, Little Green Speedster, Blastin’ Buzz and Wheelin’ Woody. They’re 1/64 scale, which is the traditional Hot Wheels size. Truth is, I bought this set for the Hamm car. I love little piggies!

Don’t misunderstand, by me bitching and moaning about lack of articulation; I’m not a poser anyway. They do look nice when they’re all together in a group shot. I’m also throwing in a picture of Rex discovering his own car. Rex was the first Toy Story item I ever bought. If you passed on the recent Jurassic World dinosaurs, like I did, he’ll make a great substitute. Overall, I am enjoying Disney Pixar’s Toy Story figures and cars, and you might also. And hopefully you can remember the movies.

  • Sal Rodriguez began collecting figures upon discovering UFC and WWE figures by Jakks Pacific. He lives with his two cats, Fluff Daddy and Little Mister, and over 2,000 action figures. Subscribe to his YouTube channel.

bottom of page