top of page

Sunday Bloody Funday: Interviews Horrific Finds


This week I got a chance to sit down and interview Dylan Ezzie the founder of Horrific Finds.

Q: Please tell us a little about yourself and what got you into collecting.

A: I grew up in a small town on the outskirts of the Adirondack Mountains, miles from the nearest neighbor and surrounded by over seventy acres of woods. The perfect place for a murder; where no one can hear you scream…Really, I did. No joke! I think that’s why I love horror so much. I constantly wrote horror stories set in my own backyard. The isolation set my imagination free. It was so much fun!

I loved horror as a kid. The Creature from the Black Lagoon was my childhood hero. As I got older I fell in love with the iconic horror characters, Michael Myers being my all-time favorite. Once I graduated college and was out on my own, I almost instantly started collecting the figures of my favorites monsters and villains. I’ll never forget walking into a local comic book store and finding a 7-inch Creature from the Black Lagoon figure from Diamond Select Toys. I was so excited! I immediately bought him, opened him up, put him on my desk and started scouring the Internet to see what else was out there… From day one I was hooked!

Q: Based on your experience, what would you say to people just getting started in collecting? Where should they start looking to begin a collection? How should they collect and display their collection?

A: When it comes to collecting, collect what you love. Don’t just collect for value or rarity. If something makes you smile every time you see it, who cares if it’s rare or worth a bunch of money? Collecting is about having fun. For me, it’s a reward for all the work I do in other parts of my life. It brings me balance.

As far as displaying your collection, put it somewhere you can always see it and enjoy it. Make sure other people can see it, too. The best part of collecting is showing off your collection and inspiring people to follow their passions. I love talking about, and walking people through my collection. It makes me happy to share something that I love so much. And at times it has even inspired others to start collections of their own, which I think is amazing.

Q: I noticed you have quite the Chucky collection from Child's Play. What is your affinity for Chucky (What do you like about that character and his figures)?

A: I am a HUGE fan of life size figures and their tremendous detail. I also love the original Child’s Play movie as well as Bride of Chucky. Since those are the two films most Chucky dolls are made from, I can’t get enough! My life size Chucky dolls are staples in my collection, especially the evil versions from TNG Props. Their expression, detail and presence is perfect. I try not to think about all the time I’ve spent just staring at them!

Q: If you had to choose what is your holy grail or favorite piece or your collection?

A: I love my Sideshow Collectibles 1:1 PredAlien Bust. He’s positioned over my bed and I often tell people he watches over me as I sleep. He’s truly amazing. After that, in no particular order, is my life size Chucky Doll Collection, six life size horror icons, life size Creature from the Black Lagoon, 1:1 Lord of Darkness Bust and T2 Terminator Bust.

Q: Are there any pieces for your collection that you are on the look out for or you must have but just haven't found?

A: My ultimate grail is the 1:1 American Werewolf in London prop. He’s over eight feet long, four feet high and five feet wide. It’s my goal to save up and perhaps order one next year, but we’ll see… I don’t think he can even fit in my apartment, but where there’s a will, there’s gotta be a way!

Q: What are a few of your top collecting memories?

A: I have so many it’s hard to name just a few… Discovering my life size Creature from the Black Lagoon at a small convention in NJ and driving him home was amazing. Finally finding two of my life size Chucky’s after three years of diligently searching still makes me smile almost every day. I found two of my Warner Bros Store Life size Gremlins on Craigslist in Maryland. The seller held them for me for over a month as I figured out a way to travel there and get them. I love when I find something by accident or when I least expect it. Those are my favorite memories.

Q: Do you have any one of a kind pieces?

A: The rarest piece I own is probably my Arnold Schwarzenegger T2 life size bust. It’s an original prototype from Sideshow Collectibles, 1 of 4 in the world. The detail and craftsmanship is mind-blowing. He looks as if he could start talking at any moment.

Q: What other passions do you have besides collecting?

A: I’m a classically trained composer and love to play the piano and write music for film and television. I read and write constantly, and I’m in the process of finishing the second draft of my first horror novel. I also run my own business called Horrific Finds, where I help small businesses advertise their products online. I’m hoping to expand HF this year and take it in a number of different directions through Instagram, Youtube and other Social Media sites. You can check out the website and our Facebook page.

Thank you very much Dylan for sitting down with me this week, and this is Canadian Chris checking out, eh!

-----

If you like this, join the conversation on Facebook!

bottom of page