top of page

Behind The Figure: Randy Hage


I recently had the pleasure of interviewing Randy Hage (Mindseye Miniatures), he is a remarkable artist. He isn’t an action figure designer, but his work could be used to make your collection extremely unique. He is a diorama maker, and boy when I say he got skills, it truly is an understatement.

You have some awesome work! How did you get into diorama making?

My folks and I opened a miniature store in the Pasadena area in the early 80’s and because of the proximity to Hollywood, we started getting a lot of TV/Film people coming in looking for materials. They started asking if we did any prop and model work and I jumped in with a big, “yes.” I had been making models since I was a child but had never done it professionally. Trial by fire. Soon we became a go-to place to get odd and hard to find items fabricated. Our store, and the varied hobby clientele we had, saved us when CGI killed the film industry model makers. After a few years, the studios began to use more practical models again and work picked up. For the 25 years that we operated the store, I made models and props and even did a short stint at the Fashion Institute of Design and Merchandising in LA, where I taught prop fabrication in their visual communications dept.

Wow that is amazing! How long have you been an artist?

I have been working as an artist professionally for 30 years.

That is a pretty long time. Do you only do store front dioramas?

I have done many different types of structures, but I’m enjoying my storefront projects and they have been well received. I have a long list of storefronts that I want to get to, so I will most likely continue on this road.

Has any of your work been used in movies etc.?

I’ve had the opportunity to make props and models for most of the major studios and networks on a wide variety of projects. Usually my work got burned or blown up.

So how long does it usually take to put a piece together?

Not counting photographing the real structure, planning and dreaming, about two months.

What would you say is your favorite piece so far?

I really like the piece I did of Yonah Schimmel Knish Bakery restaurant on the Lower East Side in NYC. It was very challenging, but I think I did that place proud.

I like funny and weird stories do you have any? Like something that happened while making or showcasing a piece?

Nothing too weird. I will tell you that the rate of urban renewal and gentrification in NYC has been crazy rapid over the past 15 years and sometimes when I am there photographing a storefront, someone will come out and start yelling at me or angrily asking me what I’m doing. Because so many people have been displaced and so many storefronts have been closed, people think that I am a developer looking to tear down and redevelop their neighborhood. Once I let the person know what I’m doing, we usually laugh about it and have a nice chat.

That is funny. I can only imagine the looks they have when they think you are the bad guy, lol! Are you a collector? If so what do you collect?

I could be the worst kind of collector, so I try to limit what I get into. I like female super hero figurines. Weird as it sounds, mostly what I collect is junk and odd parts and scraps that I might somehow use in my projects.

What do you like to do with your down time besides make kick ass dioramas?

I like to think about making kick ass dioramas! I also like spending time with family and friends.

Family and friends are always good to be around. Where do you see yourself in 10 years?

Hopefully, doing the same thing I am now...exactly what I want to. What I mean is, that each day get to work on the projects that I want to work on. I spent over 25 years doing commissioned work. Doing what others wanted me to do. It’s very liberating and enjoyable to pick the project I want to do and only worry about pleasing me. In the end, it’s some of the best and most rewarding work I’ve done.

Do you prefer a quiet night at home or going out to a big party?

I prefer going out to a big party! And the next day I will usually wish I had opted for the quiet night.

If you could give one piece of advice to the whole world, what would it be?

I would say that we should look beyond our differences and love one another.

What’s one of your worst habits?

I don’t clean up after myself in the studio. I am so focused on my work that I just don’t want to stop to clean. When it starts to look like I’m a hoarder and I can’t easily get in or out, then I clean.

What advice would you give to an artist or someone that is trying to get started doing what you do?

Know that, like any artist, musician, or performer, you will have to pay your dues. It can be a rough road and someone is always looking for a way to do things cheaper and faster. So, learn your craft well, be nimble, and always have a plan B. In a decade or so when they really nail the 3D printing stuff, it will change model making in a very dramatic way. My advice is to stay computer literate, and at the same time, choose a career path that has a lower likelihood of being eradicated by computers.

Do you have any children? If so, are they into art, if they are of age to understand such things?

I do have children and I have always taken them to art shows and museums. I know that the inspiration that I have for my work had its beginnings in viewing art at a young age.

Marvel or DC?

I have to go with DC because my wife loves Wonder Woman. We also have connections to Warner Bros.

Between those two who do you think is the best?

Can’t we look beyond our differences and love one another?

Are you working on anything new?

I am always thinking of new projects. Now that my latest show is up and running, I can take some time to figure out what projects I want to tackle next. I will also be taking some time to learn some new techniques and to experiment with new products and processes. It is so important to keep learning.

Will you be showcasing any of your work at any upcoming conventions or events?

I’m extremely blessed that at all of my past shows, my work has sold out. So, I have nothing in hand at the moment. I’m starting from zero again. Once I have completed some new pieces, I will definitely be showing them.

Where can our readers reach you if they are interested in purchasing any of your pieces?

Readers can follow me on Facebook, or on Instagram and Twitter, @rhageart

I usually post sneak peek photos of new work right before they go up for sale.

They can also email me directly at, mindseyeminiatures@gmail.com

I receive a couple requests each day to do specific projects for people, but I am not currently taking on any commissioned work.

I usually show my work at Flower Pepper Gallery in Pasadena, Ca. and readers can contact them and ask to be added to the email list.

Sweet! Well this has been fun! I know you are busy man thanks for taking your time to chat with me. When ever you get a chance to get back to commissions I may have to enlist your services, lol!

Hope you all enjoyed the interview as much as I enjoyed it. Join us on Facebook for much more. Until next time folks Go Hard! Go Fast! Go Figure!

bottom of page