top of page

Postcards From A Collector: Who the Hell is Leslie Vernon?


I didn’t know who Leslie Vernon was. Really, I still don’t. But that didn’t stop me from buying the figure. While visiting a local horror/macabre store I came across this Leslie Vernon figure. It seems he’s from a 2006 movie called “Behind the Mask: The Rise of Leslie Vernon.” Never heard of it. But that never stopped me before. *** We located some authorized dealers.

I was pleasantly surprised to see the package autographed by David J. Stieve, one of the film’s writers. I feel like a jerk ruining the package by opening it. But I’m not an “in-package” collector. I set my figures free. Sorry David.

What a treat to find this figure! And from a new and relatively unknown company: DeConte Figures and Collectibles. You ever heard of them? Me neither. But I’m ready to buy more. If this movie-based figure is my introduction to DeConte then my PayPal is ready!

Leslie uses a scythe to kill. Right? You see the movie? I haven’t. But what a great weapon it is. Who the hell uses a scythe? Oh yeah, the Grim Reaper. But Leslie’s scythe is shorter, only requiring one hand to wield it.

The figure has a raw look to it, like a custom – imperfect, jagged, ragged. Fine for a murderous killer. Especially one wearing overalls. (Hatchet, anyone?) His articulation leaves much to be desired. But as I’ve stated in previous columns: I’m no ACBAer. He’s got a ball joint neck, swivel shoulders, swivel waist, swivel wrists and swivel at mid-calf. Strangely, he has only one articulated elbow – his right one with a hinge. Knee movement would be nice. But he does stand on his own with little effort other than positioning his feet.

His right hand which holds his scythe is removable and can be swapped for an alternate hand that is molded into holding a burlap sack or a blanket. Having never seen the movie I have no idea what it is. Why the hell does he have a sack? Maybe I should watch the movie. He also has an alternate left hand but I prefer the one that was already attached.

The fact that he’s barefoot is a huge plus for me. I love seeing sculpted hands and feet. Not that they did the greatest job on the sculpt but I love seeing toes! Leslie’s feet and hands are dirty. Does he own shoes at all?

There is a spooky factor to this figure. The “raw” and almost “unfinished” look helps a lot. He’s an ugly figure, which for a serial killer is fine by me. (Have I mentioned that Leslie is a serial killer? Well he’s a serial killer.) He has a sturdiness about him that I really like. The feeling that he could take a shelf dive and come out unscathed is quite appealing to me. I appreciate sturdy figures.

If his mask were removable I’d be completely in love. Actually, who am I kidding? An unknown figure, made by an unknown company, based on an unknown movie. I am completely in love.

Check us out on Facebook!

  • Sal Rodriguez began collecting figures upon discovering UFC and WWE figures by Jakks Pacific. He lives with his two cats, Fluff Daddy and Little Mister, and over 2,000 action figures. Subscribe to his YouTube channel.

bottom of page