top of page

Postcards From A Collector: Zombiemania!


I love zombies! Ever since I saw the naked punk rocker walking through the streets in Return of the Living Dead. It was also then that I fell in love with naked women. But I digress…ah yes, zombies…here are a few of my favorites. And by favorites I mean the ones within my lazy reach…

Bubba Ho-Tep by NECA: Hate the movie, love the figure! I can’t tell you exactly why I hate the movie. I think I found it boring. Yes, I also have the Sebastian Haff figure, but he’s not a zombie now is he? Wait a second…I just realized Bubba Ho-Tep is not a zombie but a mummy. Damn it!

Dr. Tongue by Amok Time: This guy is from Day of the Dead or as my dad would say, Dia de los Muertos. No, not the day after Halloween, the 1985 movie! Did I even see this movie? I don’t know. Truthfully, lots of zombie movies start to run together. But I had to get Dr. Tongue! Wait, he’s a doctor?

Zombie Spider-Man by Marvel Select: Why is Spider-Man a zombie? I have no clue. I don’t read comic books, even though every time I visit my local comic shop to buy a figure the guy tells me how awesome comics are. But with YouTube, Facebook, Netflix, eBay and GOFIGURENEWS.COM, who the hell has time to read comic books? Well, perhaps if I did read comics I might know why Spider-Man is a zombie. I suck.

The Goon Zombie Build-a-Figure by Mezco: Circa 2005, this guy was built by collecting all four figures from The Goon series. Is this from a comic book? Damn it! Again with the comic books! This is one of the first zombies I ever bought. I met a guy on Craigslist and had him come to my house and sell me figures. Did you hear me? I let a stranger from Craigslist come into my home. I’m an idiot.

Batman Arkham City DC Multiverse Solomon Grundy: I don’t know anything about Grundy. I’m fairly confident he’s a zombie though. (Okay just checked Wikipedia. He’s a zombie. After that Bubba Ho-Tep fiasco I guess you can’t be too sure.) And what zombie is this muscular? He’s like a bodybuilder died and is now taking on Batman. But who is he? I know…read the comic.

30 Days of Night Lilith by Gentle Giant: Oh damn. She’s not a zombie. She’s a vampire. Perhaps a bit of research would help before beginning this article. Did I see this movie? I believe I did. But she’s not a zombie so whatever. (Editor, please delete this paragraph. Thanks.) He didn’t delete it did he? Sigh…

The Walking Dead Punk Rock Zombie by McFarlane: This is not the naked punk rocker from Return of the Living Dead. (Although they should make a figure of her.) Okay, now I’m searching IMDB to see who that naked punk rocker was. No luck. Anyway...I love this figure based on The Walking Dead graphic novel. (A graphic novel is like a longer, bloodier comic book, right?) I watch the show, but have never read the graphic novels or played the video game. Why is this zombie holding a guitar? Was he killed on stage by angry fans? His mohawk and skull top are removable, revealing his tasty brains!

Resident Evil Zombie Dog (which accompanied Crimson Head Zombie) by NECA: What the hell is Crimson Head? Is that a place? I believe this zombie dog is from a videogame. I just wish he could stand on his own. With his front, left paw lifted he can’t stand worth a damn! Although I see some European eBay seller seems to be able to make him stand. Europeans are so cool!

Plaid Shirt Zombie by NECA: This guy from Dawn of the Dead is so iconic that The Walking Dead gave him an homage in one of their episodes! They actually recreated this zombie and had him chasing somebody, I don’t remember who. (I think we’ve learned I don’t retain information.) But I did recognize him in the episode and I was like “Hey that’s the same zombie from Dawn of the Dead” and my girlfriend was like "Huh?” and I was like “Nothing.”

  • Sal Rodriguez began collecting figures upon discovering UFC and WWE figures by Jakks Pacific. He lives with his two cats, Fluff Daddy and Little Mister, and over 2,000 action figures. Subscribe to his YouTube channel.

For more, more and more like us on Facebook.

bottom of page