top of page

Unboxing Match: Box of Dread


Happy Spooktacular Halloween, GOFN readers!

I was hoping to have quite a few Halloween themed subscription boxes to present to everyone this month for my Unboxing Match article but sadly, three of them have let me down and won't be arriving in time for Halloween. However, Box Of Dread did make it just in time for the Haunted Holidays!!!

This is only my second Box Of Dead. I enjoyed the first one I received in August and definitely wanted to snag one for the month of October to celebrate Halloween on my YouTube channel for part of my Vlogtober series. For those of you who have never heard of Box Of Dread, it is a subscription box service that focuses on the Horror genre. It is a very affordable alternative to other subscription boxes at just $14 plus $6 shipping. Contents can include anything from Funko related items, autographs, comics, promotional items, posters, stickers, DVDs, digital downloads, books/magazines and other assorted interesting goodies. Also, each month, one lucky subscriber could win the "7th Box", which includes the items from the month's Box Of Dread as well as some additional special items.

This month's box was promoted as featuring an item from Creepshow. I love the original film, it was released when I was a kid and I just loved it. I'm also a huge fan of Stephen King and George A. Romero, so I definitely had to get this box. So, there was a DVD called Just Desserts: The Making Of Creepshow. This was once included in a box set from the UK a few years ago and never available in the United States. Box Of Dread subscribers who got the October box would be the first ones to own and view this documentary before its release in the United States in a few months. Very cool! I was a little bummed that this was the only Creepshow item in the box since that was what was being promoted but I am so happy to have it! Especially excited to hear the commentary by Romero, King and some of the films actors! Excellent!

What the box heavily promoted this month was a 2013 film from New Zealand that hasn't been released here in the United States either until this month, I believe. There are screenings around the country, you can check their official site to see if it is playing in a city near you. You can watch it on Amazon, if you can't find a screening in your city. The box had a promo poster, sticker, digital download of a song from the film and a filmbook. The film book is a limited edition of only 1,500 copies and is a Box Of Dread exclusive. The book is very high quality and nicely done.

There was an additional promo poster for the new film in the Paranormal Activity franchise. I'm not a fan of the Paranormal Activity films but as always, promotional items are always cool to get.

And lastly, we have another autograph from Box Of Dread's Signature Series. It is a signed still shot from the new film, Tales Of Halloween. I haven't seen it yet but am looking forward to checking it out soon!

So, that was the October Box Of Dread. They put out a fairly good box for the price and it usually exceeds its value. It doesn't come with a shirt as many of other subscription boxes do, focusing more on other collectible items instead. So, for $14 plus shipping, Box Of Dread is a good choice for a horror themed box on a budget! They ship to the United States and Canada.

Check out our October Box Of Dread unboxing on YouTube below. I apologize for it being a bit longer than most my unboxings and reviews, though I enjoy making longer videos. Ha ha. I thought I may have been a little unfair in my initial review of the box without having seen Deathgasm yet. The night after my unboxing, I did watch the film. I loved it so much, I felt the box warranted and deserved a secondary review.

And you can see what we got in the August Box Of Dread unboxing here.

The pups and I unboxing our 2nd ever Box Of Dread. It was pretty awesome.

Get your own Box Of Dread here: Until next time, stay spooktacular! Have a safe and fun Halloween weekend! Candace, Padfoot and Mahoney from Geek Girl Geekgasm and Go Figure News!

Join us on Facebook for a lot more!

bottom of page