top of page

Mini Madness: Dogs in Disguise


Bubble-Gum Machines.

I loved them as a kid. I love them as an adult. No matter where I am. No matter where I go. Whenever I’m at the supermarket, a general store, or even passing a barber shop, if I see bubble-gum machines, I’ll walk in or stop at that store front. I’m typically keeping my eyes out for items that’ll make a good prop for a display.

I recently visited a general store that had a very decent amount of coin-op machines. It had the typical coin-op stand with candy and gum. That stand also included some very decent two-bit ($.25) minis. Such as eraser food, bling and pocket ninjas. However, there was another machine with minis ranging from $.50 - $1.00. This one machine had a product card that caught my eye. The mine line is named Dogs in Disguise.

The price on these was $.50. I figure I’d invest in $1.50 on these. I just love that sound my quarters make when I drop them down on that machine’s slot; turn the dial only to hear the cranks turn. You then hear that plop of the plastic ball hitting the metal flap. Then at that moment as I pull the metal flap up, my silent mind says, “I hope I got…”

That $1.25 got me a dog in a shark costume and two variations of the same dog with a cape. Dogs in Disguise: A collection 6 canines, each one dressed in a costume. This collection of 6 dogs is made up of 18pcs to collect in order to complete a full set. Each dog comes in three colors, brown, black and white. The pet name and costume breakdown is as follows:

  • Diablito - devil costume

  • Manner – banana costume

  • Daisy – daisy flower costume

  • Stinker – skunk costume

  • Chomps – shark costume

  • Hero – cape

Of the two dogs that I did get. I find these to be well sculpted. I like the texture of the fur. The pose on each dog is realistic and dynamic and is clear as to what action the dog is taking. The paint application on Chomps was very decent. The paint application on each Hero I got was sloppy. On both Heros the sloppy paint was under the cape by its tail. The paint on the eyes of both my Heros was perfect. Let’s be honest here, at times the bubble-gum machine toys will have paint flaws.

Overall, this is a great line. I find these minis a pleasure to have come across. It’s a great collection for mini collectors, dog lovers and a perfect item to have in your prop box. Dogs in Disguise are a product of A & A Global Industries. You can view their other products here.

For a good time, join us on Facebook!

bottom of page