top of page

A Bird, A Plane? No, It's Galactic Gal!


After I came to Go Figure News to write and vlog for the Unboxing Match column, I was asked if I would be interested in writing a column from the point of view of a female Sci-Fi fan. I jumped at the chance as there are definitely not enough female Sci-Fi fans. I myself am rather picky about my fandoms within the genre but I also tend to like a lot of Sci-Fi films and tv series that most females wouldn't give a second though. I think I can thank my late father for that, he raised me on a lot of Sci-Fi and Fantasy stuff.

For my column, I want to showcase different types of figures and collectibles from the genre, especially some from my favourite fandoms. While I am not obligated to purchase anything specific for my articles, I would like to when possible. I definitely want to be able to give a very hands on experience to the collectibles I'm showcasing, which is the case with my very first article in this column! Thanks to this column, I have found my new obsession with a line of figures I am so in love with. And with that, I bring you some unique figures.

With the new Star Wars film set to premier next month on Dec 18th, I set out to look for figures. I have some of my own collection as a child when the originals films came out, everyone has seen or owned the original vintage figures. I didn't want to showcase Funko Pop! figures, everyone has seen those too...they are everywhere! So, I went poking about on eBay and found something I had never seen before. A line of figures called Mighty Muggs. I had only heard about them once earlier this year when I got a tiny Iron Man in a subscription box, called Mini Muggs. I didn't know anything about them nor had I heard of them.

Before purchasing any, I set out to do some reading about Mighty Muggs. Mighty Muggs were a line of vinyl figures from Hasbro around 2007 or 2008. There have been a few fandoms in the Mighty Muggs line...Marvel, Transformers, G.I. Joe, Indiana Jones and of course, Star Wars.

The Mighty Muggs figures have since been discontinued but can be found on sites like Amazon and eBay, though they no longer carry a $9.99 retail price. However, if you are lucky, you can score some great deals in auctions or "best offer" options. I have 5 in my collection and got a great deal on them all, paying very little for them.

The first set I got was Emperor Palpatine and (unmasked) Vader. I scored the set of 2 for just around $7.00! I was then lucky enough to get a set of 3, two of which are extremely hard to get and usually carry a hefty price tag. I got Han Solo, Yoda and the very rare and elusive Wicket as a set for only $31.00. Yoda alone goes for upwards of $25.00. Wicket is rare to see on eBay and when you do, I've only seen him in lots for sale, never on his own. I hear his value definitely well exceeds that of Yoda's. You can get several in the line, and there MANY, for around $15.00 or so. You can get some that don't have boxes for much cheaper, though those are ones that have been played with and most of the time, the weapons/accessories are missing or not included. And don't expect many of the figures boxes to be in mint condition if you purchase any in box. Most boxes tend to have extreme shelf wear but I am ok with that, unlike I am with my Funko Pop! figures. These figures are older and as they are no longer made, finding perfect boxes are near impossible. As long as the figures are mint inside the box, that will matter most with these figures.

All my figures were still new and mint inside the box. Yoda's tie broke when I slid him out of the box for my "unboxing" video for this article so I just went ahead and removed him so I could show you the detail and size of the Mighty Muggs figures. They were much bigger than I had expected and find them to look more unique than many Funko Pop! figures. I actually like them better in some aspects. They are also quite heavy, much more so than Pop! figures. Having seen many used and well played with ones for sale on eBay, even used, they hold up extremely well.

I plan on adding more to my collection in the near future. I have my eye on getting Princess Leia, Chewbacca and Luke Skywalker next. Even Lando is really awesome! If you like these, we found a few on Amazon here: Darth Vader, Boba Fett, Captain Rex, Ventress, Jango Fett, Luke Skywalker, Darth Maul, C3P0, and an exclusive trio of cool minis!

Well, there you have it! I hope you have enjoyed my first article and my sharing a new obsession with you. I cannot be held responsible for anyone also gaining a new obsession and spending too much money on these awesome figures. *evil grin*

Check out our unboxing video to see more about this awesome line of vinyl figures:

bottom of page