top of page

Our Thanks


Though Thanksgiving has its distinctly various traditions, all of us here at Go Figure News want to wish you and your loved ones a very special round of thanks. This year we are doing so in a few different ways. Our Guerilla Giveaway and GO-Shop Sale (10% off already low prices to sustain our site - use code GOFN10) are both on through Monday (11/30) - check them out! And the GO-Team wants to thank you in their own way as well.....

Raymond (Brick Addiction) says: "How Do You Thank An Object? The toys in my life since childhood have contributed differently to what I have become today. LEGO, for instance, reinforced my passion for storytelling, urban planning, and architecture. Little did I know that weaving stories with my LEGO minifigs would help give birth to my present career as a screenwriter. One-sixth scale figures like HOT TOYS and HASBRO, on the other hand, were those “little friends” whom unwittingly figured in my life during the time I had a severe depression back in 2012. By bringing them into my life, they somehow made me realize that like me to them, I was bigger than my problems and could have total control over them. Today, I don’t question anymore why a grown-up like me still buy, collect, and play with toys. Playing as a word has only evolved for me, and I’ll always be grateful to my little inanimate friends because they’ve given me the imagination to make my life move."

Robyn (Heroine) says: "There are many things in a collector's world to be thankful for: figures and statues, comics, merchandise etc. but I am specifically thankful for Sideshow's Buffy statues. I love them all, even the ones I don't yet have and can't currently afford, but my favourite has always been the Faith (Sideshow) statue. I am thankful for all of the people who buy my handmade jewellery (including a lot of TV and film replicas and memorabilia) which allows me to continue expanding my collections."

Candace (Unboxing Match + Galactic Gal) says " I am quite thankful that I discovered the world of subscription boxes this year. In doing so, not only was I able to expand my love for more geeky things, fandoms and collectibles... I discovered a world of toys and figures I never even noticed or existed. I have a new love and passion for stuff from lines like Mezco, Funko, Titan and Mighty Muggs, to name a few. My collection may be small compared to those who hav been collecting longer and can afford to do so, I am quite proud and thankful for the small incredible collection I have put togther in just under a year. Excited to see what the New Year brings!"

Sal (Postcards From A Collector) says: "I'm thankful that we're finally getting 1/4 scale Hulk by NECA. We've been teased; we've been seduced, and it's finally supposed to happen. Although I'm not so thankful about his yoga pants, but that ain't NECA's fault."

Danielle (GOFN/NYCC) says: "I am thankful to Kotobukiya for making a Monokoe statue, the fact that they chose to make a statue of a lesser know anime and choosing to highlight Kusuriuri the medicine seller. Along with other anime statues that they have released in the past few years (Card Captor Sakura, Black Butler, Tokyo Ghoul) I am hoping that they will be covering/releasing more hidden gems. I am also thankful for Bandai Taimashin and Megahouse for the amount of Digimon figures and statues that they have been releasing since the new series and video games are out, due out in the future."

Chris (Sunday Bloody Funday + Bots & Monsters) says: "I'm thankful that in the hard times I can sit back and look at a favorite figure in my collection and remember a good time. I'm also thankful for a community of friends I've met over this year that have a common interest and passion. Toys and figures are more than plastic, they can bring people together."

Amy & Dustin (Minis + More) says: "Dustin and Amy want to say "thank you" to all of the Dustmites that have followed along with us this year. We still have a few surprises left for Minis & More to finish up the year. We're thankful to be able to be reviewers for the Go Figure News team, and hope everyone has a wonderful Thanksgiving!!

Lennon (Stay Toon'd + Behind The Figure) says: "Hope you all are enjoying this holiday season. This question comes up every year and every year there is something new in my life that I can say I'm grateful for. This year there are many things I am grateful for such as being blessed to have another son. I'm also thankful for being apart of this wonderful group of people here at Go Figure. Who would have thought that me being into toys, comics, video games, etc. pretty much having a "Geek" side would end up changing my life. For those of you that don't know I have been diagnosed with a few mental health issues that have made my life a bit difficult to handle. Before meeting TJ and the rest of the Go Figure team I had many thoughts of hurting myself to escape from the pain I was dealing with. Because of collecting and gaming I was able to escape from my thoughts and find some sort of joy in my life. I made tons of new friends, interviewed some of the most talented people, learned a few things about the wonderful world of pop culture, but most importantly I made it through despite all of my short comings. As I said there are many things I'm thankful for, but I'm most thank for all of you out there. Those of you that read not just my articles, but all of the articles here at Go Figure without you there would be no us and I am very thankful to be able to share my knowledge, thoughts, and opinions with you all. Thanks to all of the companies that continue to make awesome things for me to talk about especially Activision, Funko, and NECA. There are others but if I named you all we would be here forever. I wish you all have a memorable holiday, get to enjoy your family time, eat some good food, and shop till you drop when the stores open on Black Friday! Peace and Blessings to you all. I look forward to having another wonderful year!

Denis (Honey, They Shrunk My Hero) says: "I am thankful for the creative perversions of countless artists, visionaries, writers and executives who made Saturday morning cartoons, comics and science-fiction movies and books that created this toy-hoarding dervish. I am thankful for the engineers and artists that figured out how to turn trucks into robots, and create such tiny figures with high detail and articulation. I am thankful for the fact that I am not alone and that there is a world filled with boys and girls like me that I can share with. Finally I am thankful to God for allowing me the livelihood to pursue my passions and the talent to help spread my joy."

Nathan (Plastic Trash) says: "I'm thankful for my wife and her understanding and adoration for me and all of my Peter Pan syndrome-like tendencies. From toys, cartoons and comic books to sneakers and t-shirts, she doesn't frown upon any of my man-child obsessions and even has an excellent aptitude for much of it, which makes me love her even more because she's not just my wife, but also my best friend. I will always be thankful that I met her and I'm truly thankful that she is mine."

Jake (Go Figure Custom Toys) says: "I would like to give thanks to the ever-growing, and infinitely-supportive custom toy community online. Never have I encountered a more genuinely talented and giving group of artists as those found in Facebook groups such as Custom Action Figure Express, or The World's Greatest Customizers: action figures and toys. It's been a wonderfully rewarding experience observing the comradery that exists around the shared love of toys, and on an even deeper level, the desire to sit down and make your own toys when your favorite characters have been under-represented. Keep up the amazing work, everyone!"

Blake/Remi (The Ultimate Toy Collector) says: "It seems like Thanksgiving was just yesterday. For me this whole year has flown by. This is my daughters second thanksgiving and I feel blessed to spend it with her and my family. Over the past year I've definitely felt as though I've grown to understand that you need to appreciate what you have because it could all be gone tomorrow. I've learned to appreciate your health and your loved ones health. And no matter how bad you think you may have it... some else might have it worse. I'm thankful for everything I have: physically, spiritually, and emotionally. I'm most thankful for my family. And the one person who I feel as though I continue to find a new depth of love as each day passes is my daughter. She's legitimately my everything. I'm also very thankful for everyone I've meet over the past 2 or 3 years who has helped me in one way or the other in regards to my YouTube endeavor. Everyone in the toy industry who has helped me and given me pointers... Thank you. There's certain people that without their help The Ultimatetoycollector wouldn't be possible. I genuinely wish everyone a Happy Thanksgiving and I hope your able to spend it with those you love. To our service men our prayers go out to you.

TJ (Publisher) says: "First and foremost I want to thank my team, a dedicated (and sometimes revolving) collective of wonderful volunteers who give their time and talent for the love of collectting and their fellow collectors and readers out there! This online 'zine would be nothing without them. I thank each and everyone of them for putting up with sudden shifts in focus as we have grown and developed the site and our social media. We have experimented and shapeshifted over these last eighteen months, going from a strictly columnized format to bringing in guest contributors, establishing in-depth interviews and convention coverage, as well as contests and adding a shop! Through the trials and tribulations I thank you, our readers, for sticking with us as one of your daily sources for the latest and greatest toy figures we can find under the sun. And finally I'd like to thank all of the toymakers and artists out there that keep us fascinated year-round! Our sincere thanks, now carry on!"

Tell us what you are thankful for today, yesterday and tomorrow. Now, go forth and enjoy your feast!

bottom of page