top of page

Unboxing Match: Go Go Retro


A month or two ago, I was contacted by a new up and coming subscription box service and asked if Padfoot and I would be interested in checking out their first "exclusive first look" box for an unboxing and review on my YouTube channel. What blogger who does unboxing videos says no to that?

So, they sent me the box and I loved it! The company is called Retro Pop Box. Their boxes focuses on nostalgic items, inspired by retro pop culture. You can choose one of 3 decades...1960s, 1970s or 1980s. As one of the very few chosen to receive the first look box, we also got 3 months free of their box. I chose to get one from each decade. November was their first official release of their new box. I received mine just before Thanksgiving and the pups and I did a Thanksgiving unboxing.

Our first box was the 1960s themed box. How adorable is that box? When you open it, it had a sticker that said "far out", a phrase very common for the times in the 1960s.

First item in the box was a really cool shirt. Their shirts are exclusive to them, its on the inside of the shirt. The shirt was so soft and I loved the colors and design. The radio station isn't real, I did ask just out of curiosity. Shirt sizes go up to 2XL but in the near future, they will carry bigger sizes. There is a shirt in the box every month. I love me some geeky shirts to add to my collection! I typically value shirts around $12-$15, a little more for the bigger sizes.

Next there was a Star Trek luggage tag. And on the other side was a "fun fact". Every Retro Pop Box will have an item that contain some sort of pop culture related fun fact. These tags are awesome, I wish I had a Spock one..he is the best! I had seen those prior to getting this one, as I found them looking for Spock items. These actually value around $10-$12 and even up to $15.

There was a smiley face patch and two pins. Smiley faces on patches, shirts, stickers and other items was huge in the 60s. I loved the vinyl record pin and you also get a Retro Pop Box pin. Patches of this size value around $3 and a couple dollars for the pins.

Now these brought back childhood memories of elementary school in the 70s, scented markers! I love these things. Value for a couple is maybe $2.50 or so for a couple like this.

Last item in the box was a Batman bendable figure. I have seen these too and would love the full set! I was surprised that these value around $10-$15. They are really cool...but mine will be staying in the package.

So, this is Retro Pop Box. The box is $20 plus $5 shipping. Its not a bad box for the price, I really enjoy it and it brings back a lot of nostalgic and comforting memories of my late mother and my chilhood. The Dec box we are getting should be the 1970s themed and we look forward to it, since I was born in 1973.

If you are interested in trying out Retro Pop Box, you can check them out here and use code UNBOX1 to get 10% off your first box. Check out the family's Thanksgiving unboxing of the very first Retro Pop Box. And join GOFN on Facebook where there's always something more!

bottom of page