top of page

Mini Madness: Heroclix


Heroclix. How do I explain the complicated mechanics of such a game to those that have never played it?

First, let’s start by mentioning that Heroclix (by WizKids) itself is a miniature game. A miniature game, which dominantly features superheroes as the main playing pieces. One way to simply explain the game is this: Heroclix is kind of like superhero chess. Those of us that play the game, that’s how we simply describe it. Before I proceed, let make something clear. This isn’t an article about the game. Between you and me, I’m not intelligent enough to even explain the game’s mechanics properly.

What I do want to share with you is one of the mechanics of the game. The 3D objects. 3D objects in Heroclix provide game mechanics such as protection in defense. The ability to hide in the object through ability called stealth. These objects can be carries and thrown. They also can boost abilities to a character's existing powers and abilities.

These days I don’t play the game as much as I had before. I will try to stay on top of the new expansion and booster sets. I mostly now stay interested in the new 3D objects that get released. Typically, I just use the objects now as props for action figure set ups. I tell you these objects make wonderful props.

The first two 3D packs were sold on blister cards.

Indoor Adventure Kit:

  • computer

  • bookcase

  • soda machine

  • desk

  • a two sided playing map

  • scenario cards

  • instructions

Outdoor Adventure Kit:

  • dumpster

  • crate

  • lamp post

  • mail box

  • a two sided playing map

  • scenario cards

  • instructions

From that point on, 3D objects were included in themed starter packs and also as prize support for tournament play. The objects produced have ranged from common objects to comic book artifacts such as Crimson Gem of Cyttorak and Batman Suit of Sorrows.

Wizkids pays great attention to sculpts and paint applications. The details are so perfect, the items are ready made. The items photograph very well. These items are so well done; that I feel there is no reason to even customize them.

To my fellow collectors that want to expand their prop collection. I highly suggest that a collector look into the Heroclix 3D objects to add to their collection. I want to express how greatful I am to the staff at GoFN. I appreciate the opportunity you have given me to speak on the topic of toys and the culture I love. Please check them out by liking them on Facebook!

bottom of page