top of page

Dear Santa: Ho Ho Ho - Our Grail Figures!


WHAT'S ON YOUR LIST?: Here at Go Figure News we are a wild bunch of collectors who have a vast range of taste, from tiny minis to outer space! Collectively we are asking Santa for our most exciting grail figures this year. So keep us in mind this season Santa!

Raymond Diamzon

Author of Brick Addiction

My Lego-ho-ho-ho Wishlist. City-building is my game in collecting LEGO. My city mayor minifig has just approved the construction of the seaside Cheers Avenue, and the buildings adjacent to it are beginning to rise – forming the face of my city. Flanking the Cathedral on its centre is the Grand Emporium, and the soon-to-rise Palace Cinema, assuming Santa will grant my mayor’s wish. If that happens, movie stars will visit the city and the avenue will indeed be cheers-filled!

As my city’s ambition moves forward, would space mission be far behind? LEGO City’s Space Mission set, being rare because it’s been retired, is definitely in my top 3 wishlist. After all, my vintage space sets cannot be built on the moon without being launched from earth, right?

Lastly, heritage conservation is among the mayor’s priorities, and a recent discovery has revealed that my city originated from LEGO Castles theme. The underground excavation has shown evidence of a medieval market on top of a king’s castle which has already been unearthed. It would be really awesome to travel through time and discover what my city looked like before. So you better watch out Santa, I haven’t been naughty but nice, so I send you my list!

Candace Whitehead

Author of Galactic Gal and Unboxing Match

If I could ask Santa for my grails, that is quite easy. My ultimate grail is a special Funko Pop, one I will never own. Most people want it just for the value or to trade it as it would be worth nearly $1500, is Alex de Large from A Clockwork Orange. Most people aren't fans of the film or don't even care about it but I am a TRUE Clockwork fan and Malcolm McDowell is my favourite actor of all time, whom I had the honour of meeting and as my later mother was a Malcolm fan, that would also make owning that Pop all the more special.

My other grail figures are also Funko Pops, I would love to finish my Big Bang Theory Pop and Mystery Mini collections. I only had Howard, Bernie and Amy Pops until a fellow YouTuber kindly sent me one of my grails, a Sheldon Copper Astro Zombies exclusive. Those are the only 4 Pops I have and want more than anything to finish the set, especially with all the Sheldons which I sadly can't ever afford, not in this lifetime or any other. Ha ha. And my 3rd grail wants would be to finish out my Doctor Who Pop collection with the Evolving Dalek and the 2 Doctors in the orange space suits and the Hot Topic exclusives Weeping Angel and Cyberman. But dear Santa...if you are reading this, my Yule gift list is right here. Ha ha.

Chris Hammond

Author of Bots + Monsters and Sunday Bloody Funday and New Releases compiler

Dear Santa and Mrs. Claus please bring me the 1999 Bandai large size Gamera Vinyl figure. I've been trying to add to my collection since it's release date. You've brought me socks, gloves, and underwear. I would really, really like this. Godzilla is lonely and would love to look up to a giant space turtle. P.S there's no snow yet so watch the puddles, Canadian Chris

Denis del Callar

Author of Honey, They Shrunk My Hero

Dear Santa + Mrs. Claus,

First off: Thank you for the Star Wars Legacy Edition Millennium Falcon that you knocked off my Holy Grail list early this year. I simply cannot take my eyes off of it. It never fails to make me smile. For Christmas - since I've been a good boy (relatively), I really would like a BBI ELITE-FORCE 1/18 MH-60 Blackhawk Night Raid Helicopter since my GI Joes need something cool and realistic to ride in. But if you can,and I would really, really, REALLY be a good boy next year if you did, I would LOVE to get the Holy Grail this Christmas: A complete GI Joe Defiant Space Vehicle/Launch Complex. Merry Christmas TJ! Safe travels!

Lennon George

Author of Stay Toon'd and regular profiler for Behind The Figure

Dear Santa,

I have been a pretty good boy this year at least I have tried. I have a huge favor to ask of you and Mrs. Claus. As you know I am a really big collector, heck you have helped me in the past get some things I have been desperately trying to find. Well this year I need you to use all the magical powers of Christmas that you can if you will. I have a short list but they are pretty expensive and I'm afraid I will never own them unless you help. So here is the list...

  1. DC Funko Pop Glow In The Dark Green Lantern

  2. Marvel Funko Pop Flocked Beast

  3. Star Wars Funko Pop Flocked Chewy

Now I know you have some work cut out for yourself, but you're Santa so I have all faith in you completing this task. If this request is too much for you then I'll settle for a hot geeky chick, with a rocking body, tons of money, and a collection addiction just like me. That we could live the rest of our lives having a blast doing what we love to do with no worries. I look forward to see what you choose to put under the tree.

Thanks, LJ

PS: Please no jokes this year like last year when you left me lumps of coal shaped like what I asked for. That was so not cool!

Nathan DeWitt

Author of Plastic Trash

Dear Santa,

I'm writing you what will be my last letter. I've written to you consistently every year for the last 32 Christmases and for some reason about 20 Christmases ago, you stopped writing me back. Soon after, gifts stopped appearing below the tree, but I never stopped believing in you. Every year I've written you, left you cookies (that you stopped eating), and bupkis. Well, I'm sick and tired of your shit. I don't care if people say Christmas is for children—where's the swag? Gimmee, gimmee, gimmee!

3. Dream Rush Chucky "Possessed Version"

Even though he never quite reached the status quo of Jason or Freddy, Chucky and the Child's Play franchise has a few films that have some fun late-night scares and since I'm a huge 80's slasher film fan, Chucky has always been welcome on my shelf. Unfortunately 99% of Chucky figures don't interest me. A big problem is that once the franchise went into "Bride of Chucky" territory, I tuned out, and even though there have been a ton of Chucky toys over the years, much of it is "Bride of Chucky" oriented. I'm a bigger fan of the first couple films where they are entertaining for their use of puppetry and practical effects, as well as a decent story with a sadistic and fun bad guy.

Chucky also is one of only a few characters that I'd prefer in 1/1 scale and, to my knowledge; no company has attempted an official 1/1 version from the original film. I mean, I can't think of a character that should have a proper 1/1 version—he's a freaking toy! I want a cloth outfit, rooted hair, moveable eyes, and a voice box served up in replica box art from the first film. No one has come even close, but Japanese company Dream Rush put out two decent versions a few years ago. Replicated in their yellow "Good Guy" style boxes from the original film, the first version was modeled after the original "Good Guy" doll, including that innocent "My Buddy" look and cute hat. The second version traded out the friendly head for a snarling stare—clearly showing that the doll was now possessed.

The "possessed" version is clearly the version to have, especially when you see that these typically sell in $500-$600 range. I've held off on this figure for a while—the price and rarity being the biggest reasons. Also there had been word of a Chucky re-boot last year, so I was holding out for a proper 1/1 o.g. version, but now the film is being written as "Chucky 7," so unfortunately we're still dealing with Chucky's family life—and apparently for this one, his children. Yuck! Hopefully someone will pick up the reigns and give us a proper "Original 1/1 Chucky" toy, but for now I'll keep the Dream Rush version in my sights.

2. JUN Planning "Gremlins" Original Stripe

"Gremlins" is a film that's has a nostalgic dirge of merchandise fairly recently. NECA, Funko, and Medicom have all released recent incarnations of Gizmo and the various Mogwais and Gremlins from the first two films. This is another franchise that I'd prefer to have in 1/1 scale. Growing up, I had the stuffed Gizmo from Hasbro and "Gremlins" t-shirts and Underoos, so I now expect the utmost quality as paycheck-earning adult. The closest (in my opinion) and most affordable option for a cool Mogwai is JUN Planning.

Released in 2007 in Japan, JUN Planning created numerous versions of Gizmo and Stripe as well as other Gremlins from the first film and Mogwais from the sequel. I picked up the original Gizmo then, but was unable to obtain the Stripe figure. The problem is that JUN Planning made Stripe in multiple versions (original, monochrome, bright green), so tracking down the one with the screen-accurate paint has been a challenge (though the Santa version is awesome). I did score the exclusive 200-piece Gangster Gremlin in the ski mask and he's sweet, but I need the Gremlin leader Stripe on my shelf!

1. Master Replicas “Muppets” Photo Puppet Fozzie Bear (unreleased)

Now this is what a true grail piece kids! Not some Hot Toys figure that came out 3 years ago when you were in middle school, but an unreleased badass piece of toy history! In 2007 Master Replicas released their first of three 1/1 photo-replica puppets of the world famous Muppets. Photo puppets were essentially 1/1 scale versions of the characters as if they were being photographed head to toe, without a puppeteer operating it. The 1/1 replicas featured wired armatures so they could be posed and photographed in various ways.

Master Replica's first release was the Electric Mayhem’s famous drummer Animal. The figure was huge (even when compared to Kermit and Gonzo) and sales weren't as stellar as hoped. Also the figure basically shipped in a small coffin, so stores with limited space had to give up a lot of room for the replicas. MR released Muppet leader Kermit as well in 2007, followed by Gonzo in 2008, but by then the writing was on the wall for the line. They were just too big and costly during a time when people weren't spending crazy on giant pieces and stores began to quickly liquidate them. I pounced then and got Kermit and Gonzo for way below retail. Animal was just too ancillary for me--though a drummer buddy of mine owns him and he looks absolutely sick sitting with his kit!

At the 2007 San Diego Comic Con, Master Replicas showed the prototype for the next character in line for treatment: Fozzie Bear! What would surely be the priciest of all the Muppets, Fozzie stood 40-inches high and looked absolutely amazing. Unfortunately, the spring of 2009 release would never happen with retailers losing interest in the large costly pieces and very soon after Master Replicas folded and Fozzie was a mere memory...unless you got $22k. Grrrr! Thanks Santa and Good Luck!

TJ Norris

Publisher

Dearest Santa and Mrs. C - This year I want to ask that we continue GOFN, but that we update it to feature really special independent toymakers int he new year. I'd love to see Bernie for Prez and get proper health insurance. That aside, and you guys not being miracle workers, if I had to choose this year I'd like only a few 1/6th Scale figures....the new 2001: A Space Odyssey figures from Go Hero. I'd also love to have one of my holiest of grails, Hot Toys' General Ursus and Gorilla Soldier (Planet of the Apes). And the Aliens Power Loader P-5000 Deluxe Vehicle from NECA would be a groovy touch too! Lastly I'd love to complete my Sideshow Collectibles collection of figures from the Twilight Zone please try and find me the Eye of the Beholder set (Doctor and Nurse). That outta do it, except for any number of special figures from Kidrobot, Matrian Toys, Kozik, Ron English....oh let the flood waters flow.

Much love and joy, TJ

Like Us on Facebook for more more more.....

bottom of page