top of page

Heroine: A Grey Finale


Since this is my last piece of the year, I thought I'd do it on something special (and not Buffy, for a change). I am in love with my new X-Men Last Stand Jean Grey bust, played by the beautiful Famke Janssen.

The first thing I noticed upon opening the box up, and the main reason why I love this piece so much, is that the bust looks startlingly like Famke Janssen, the actress who plays her. Photos do not do it the justice it deserves. I have found it quite uncommon to see a piece that looks so much like the actor or actress that plays the character; it is masterfully sculpted by Gentle Giant, released by DST and is limited to 5,000 pieces.

She stands around 15cm tall and shows Jean in all her glory...glory of her evil side (Phoenix), that is. Jean Grey is the red-headed beauty from X-Men and the scene this bust is taken from is from The Last Stand, the third movie in which, after sacrificing her life to save the others, she comes back as an evil being and unleashed "vengeance" in the form havoc and chaos. "Vengeance" in this case being caused by Phoenix, a powerful and dangerous alternate personality whom Professor X originally repressed.

Famke Janssen was born in The Netherlands and has the X-Men trilogy and Wolverine, in her resume along with quite a few other roles on both the big and small screens including: GoldenEye (from the James Bond Series), How To Get Away With Murder, Hemlock Grove, Taken, and House On Haunted Hill. In addition, she also modeled for Chanel in 1984.

Regards, Robyn Lees

bottom of page