top of page

My Adventures at Hot Toys - Secret Base (Hong Kong)


I left South Africa a few months ago and now I live in Beijing.

If you are into pop culture and movies, you’ll be depressed if you are stranded in South Africa, mainly because there are only two or three great places for you to go to shop or enjoy the stuff, but also because some people are trying to rip off people so bad, that they take all the fun out of pop culture.

During the recent red alert in Beijing, I decided to go to Hong Kong for an unexpected holiday. After a rather long trip by train, I decided it was time to start sightseeing. I remembered that the city is also home to Hot Toys and I decided to visit Secret Base.

First off, the place is beyond awesome. I have never been in a place with so many different kinds of high end figurines and what makes this different from say, a normal museum, was the fact that it was actually interesting.

Yes, they had loads of Iron Man figurines, but being there in person gave an extra dimension to the company and this distinguished them from the others who try to be so grand.

Secret Base is awesome, not only because it has awesome stuff, but because the whole place was designed by people who loves movies and who love action figures, you get it? Kind of, for us by us and you can join us for the ride.

It has a futuristic, glitzy atmosphere and although you cannot buy anything there, you can feel that everything was so expensive there.

The people were so friendly and told me to go to Toy Hunter that was around the corner.

I wont bore you with any more stories, but I will share my thoughts and photos with you…

  • The good: Seeing the figurines on display.

  • The better: Seeing complete sets

  • The awesome: The 1/4 Tony Stark from Avengers. It is truly remarkable.

  • The bad: I only had my phone, so the photos are so-so

Comments


bottom of page